We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Family Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montana's BBQ & Bar

Montana's BBQ & Bar
Ranked #2,425 of 3,497 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Montana’s is all things BBQ to all people. Whether you’re in the mood for southern style in-house smoked ribs and pulled pork or looking for some Canadian BBQ flavour across our burgers, steaks and sandwiches; Montana’s has the perfect atmosphere to bring the family or meet up with friends. Fire up the good times at Montana’s BBQ & Bar!
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Family Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Service was good, ribs were tasty and plentiful as always. A bit of a wait to get in (10-15 mins) but that wasn't unexpected as Montanas is generally busy at meal times. Good family dining in a pleasant relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Attila7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    9
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Take Kids Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our family has been here a dozen times over the years and I would say it's a great place to take the kids to eat. The paper tablecloth they can draw/write on, the colouring kids' menu, the variety of meals they can select, and the moose antler hat for birthdays is entertaining. The atmosphere just seems to be fun for kids. On a date, not so much.

That being said, I love the Firecracker Chipotle Burger with Caesar Salad. It's a winner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glee2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brutal Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is one poorly run restaurant and although the food is good, we have no intention of returning there anytime soon! My husband and I visited this establishment one Sunday afternoon. It was past the lunch hour and when we went in, we seated ourselves in the bar. The bar was half-full
with a couple of tables on the patio filled. The restaurant side was not filled up, there was no line-up or wait at the door. We ended up with a manager taking our order and we waited a loong time
for our food. He kept apologizing as it was quite evident there was not enough staff for a busy
Sunday! All we could see was one over worked girl handling the drink orders for the whole
place! My husband, son and his Dad made the mistake of going there after the last bad experience in the evening after the dinner hour and it was the same brutal service! There is another location we visit and the service is great so there is definitely something wrong with the
management/ownership at the above location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Tasty treat in the North”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a quick lunch. The service was prompt & efficient. The food was delivered in a reasonable amount of time and was fresh, plentiful and flavourful very good value for the money. All in all spot on and definitely worth a return visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BagelAlberta_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
412 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Hot food but slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was hot and tasty. Special attention given for a birthday. But service was slow. Very slow. :(

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's BBQ & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Montana's BBQ & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing