We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi”

Red Ember Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #544 of 3,580 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Red Ember is a quaint and cozy Japanese restaurant located on the ground floor of a building on 6th Ave and the west side of 14th St. NW. After 6 PM, parking is free in the rear of the building immediately to the north....access via the back alley off of 6th Ave. The staff are friendly and attentive. There is a large flat screen TV for sports fans, and soft music plays in the background....very relaxing. The complimentary salmon tempura appy was very good, as was our tempura prawn dish. The sashimi was excellent....lots of tasty fish. The sushi rolls we ordered were very fresh and very good as well, with the fish on top of the roll rather than inside....it allows you to savor the fish rather than just the rice. Everything we ordered was presented on one plate, which made it easier to navigate with the chopsticks. The sauces that were drizzled over the rolls complimented the flavors nicely, but didn't overwhelm them. The prices are reasonable. We stayed until 7: 45 PM on a weeknight and were the last ones there.....I imagine it's a lot busier on weekends. You can definitely tell the chef cares about quality and freshness, which is a must for sushi foodies. My wife said the leftover rolls she made short work of at lunch the following day tasted just as good as they did the previous evening. As General MacArthur once said, I shall return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnyawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best Sushi in Calgary!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am very lucky to work in the building where this restaurant is located. I eat here at least once a week sometimes more. I also bring it home for dinner on occasion and my husband raves about it every time I do. The service is always personal and exceptional. Whether you want to take out or eat in this is a great choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet gem in trendy neighbourhood.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is the best Japanese we have had (and we used to live on the coast), and the service is very personable. We really like the atmosphere, it has a cozy feel and it's also very clean. Have to pay for parking I believe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brianbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We return again and again”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We love the sashimi at Red Ember. It is fresh and tender. We appreciate the presentation. The service is respectful and attentive. We enjoy the salmon tempura with the delicious accompanying sauce. It is a must. We would love to see katsu don on the menu. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VelaGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food - wonderful service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

went with another family with small children - all 8 of us loved the food and the service was really fast. would highly recommend - but make sure you call for a reservation! prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJFCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ember Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Red Ember Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing