We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I did not like these doughnuts!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jelly Modern Doughnuts

Jelly Modern Doughnuts
Ranked #5 of 40 Bakeries in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
977 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“I did not like these doughnuts!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The dough was greasy and lacked taste. The Callebaut chocolate doughnut was disgusting with a very bitter taste. Please note that I had these doughnuts at their Toronto location perhaps the Calgary store is better? I was hopeful for a better experience as their marketing and publicity makes youbelieve they are selling gourmet donuts and they are not!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“not worth the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

After hearing about this place from a few sources, was expecting amazing, not mediocre. Way over priced. We got a dozen variety and the only good one was the smore donut - and only if its heated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nloughead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expensive but yummy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I went here after hearing great things about it and was disappointed. The restaurant was empty, so I had the server to myself and unfortunately, he was not familiar with any of the doughnuts (not all of them were labelled). The donuts themselves were great, but very pricey for what you get.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spooky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was so looking forward to trying the doughnuts here. Having heard so many good things. We tried the Salted Caramel, S'mores, and Callabaut chocolate varieties. The flavors were good but the doughnut itself I found to be heavy. There was no lightness to it like it was old or a cake doughnut. It was also expensive to buy. For that price, it should be amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cobalt753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Maple bacon..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Seriously, the maple bacon doughnut is the best donut I've EVER had. It's a must if you ever go there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lbomb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jelly Modern Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Jelly Modern Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing