We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great couple of hours”

The Military Museums
Ranked #9 of 303 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Military Museums. Discover the victories, tragedies, and sacrifices of the Canadian Forces. Experience life at the helm in a Second World War ship's wheelhouse, walk through a First World War trench, and witness a bomber squadron's mission over enemy territory. The Military Museums is dedicated to representing Canada's navy, army, and air force, and educating the public, particularly youth, about Canada's military. Admission: Adults $10, Seniors $5, Youth 7-17 $4, Family $20, Children 6 and under are free. Free admission for veterans and Canadian Forces personnel. Hours: Weekdays 9:00 AM to 5 PM, Weekends & Statutory Holidays 9:30 AM to 4 PM. Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's day. TMM is a Canadian Forces tri-service history, heritage, art, research, and educational institution. It is composed of the following organizations: * Naval Museum of Alberta * Army Museum of Alberta * Air Force Museum of Alberta * Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians) Museum * Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry Museum and Archives * The King's Own Calgary Regiment (Royal Canadian Armoured Corps) Museum * The Calgary Highlanders Regimental Museum and Archives * The University of Calgary Military Museums Library and Archives. The Museum of the Regiments was officially opened by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II on 30 June 1990. The Queen Elizabeth II Atrium was dedicated to Her Majesty during the visit of Her Majesty and the Duke of Edinburgh on 25 May 2005. The Military Museums was renamed “The Military Museums” (TMM) by Her Royal Highness The Countess of Wessex during the visit of Her Royal Highness on 3 June 2006.TMM’s $18.5 million capital expansion and renovation has seen the facility grow from 52,000 sq ft to 104,000 sq ft, making it the second largest military museum in Canada. The expanded facility is now tri-service and includes the relocated Naval Museum of Alberta and the newly-created Air Force Museum of Alberta.TMM’s education programs are tied in with Alberta’s provincial education curriculum and have won both provincial and national awards of excellence.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A great couple of hours”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was a great way to spend an afternoon. To be honest, we had intended to visit the main museum in downtown Calgary, but it was closed on Mondays and we had some time to kill otherwise we wouldn't have come across this place. We were really glad we did though. There were lots of exhibits, covering not only the normal war stuff, but also be human impact of war, with a great temporary exhibition about women across the world having being impacted by various wars. Really interesting stuff.

Of course no military museum would be complete without large metal geegaws to look at, and it didn't disappoint. Most of the tanks are actually outside the building, with maritime and air force exhibits inside. There were some interesting videos scattered throughout, and various dioramas depicting Canada's involvement in each of its key wars. Definitely worth a trip out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank glinkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    111
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting exhibits!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I loved the tanks and the support vehicles outside, especially the Soviet T-72 Tank. The aviation museum is fun and full of history, and there was a WWII veteran who gave me a great tour of the place (he was a gunner in a bomber). NAVY museum is awesome as well, with many guns and torpedoes, as well as airplanes for aircraft carriers and so on! Check this place out for sure!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kotbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

There is a lot to see - more than you would expect for the price. The Naval exhibit is outstanding and I hope the curator is reading this because I wanted to tell him that personally (saw him when we went in, but not out).We felt very moved by several of the exhibits - patriotic and proud. There is a revolving exhibit in the Founders Gallery - currently a women in war piece that was heartbreaking but so worth seeing.
Museum is easy to get to, there is ample parking and we even saw a jack-rabbit outside as we were leaving. Kids (ages 5-16) all got something out of visiting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jo_VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wish I had seen more of it!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

When arriving at the museum, I was impressed not only by the building but even more so by it's displays. Very realistic dioramas, covering a wide range of Canadian history as well as all services of the Canadian forces. A more than pleasant surprise . My only regret is that I didn't have sufficient time to do justice to it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlotteofvarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of The Best Military Museums Ever”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have visited military museums internationally and this complex has to be one of the best we have ever seen. All the services of the Canadian Armed forces are represented although the Air Force exhibit is small.

If you are interested in military history OR Canadian history this complex is a must see. The price was quite reasonable also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Military Museums also viewed

 

Been to The Military Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing