We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Calgary”
Review of Tuxedo House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuxedo House B&B
Ranked #6 of 57 Calgary B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Tuxedo House in Calgary for five nights, as we were attending a family funeral.
Our host, Glen Grey was so hospitable and helpful and he was a font of information about Calgary, its transport, facilities, places to eat in the evening and shops. Nothing was too much effort; if he could do something for you, he would willingly.
The breakfasts were healthy, hot and tasty, with all the tea or coffee you could drink. As previous reviewers have said, he makes homemade jam with a fruit, which we had never heard of called saskatoon berry, very tasty. We never had the same breakfast twice.
We stayed in the twin bedroom, Balmoral. It was wonderfully decorated in lemon and blue with Laura Ashley bed linen. The beds were comfortable and even though at times at night the temperature dropped to minus 20, the duvets and throws kept us warm and toasty. The double bedrooms were equally well decorated and have been developed with much thought and care.
Clean towels were provided and so were lovely soft bathrobes. The bathroom is shared with other guests, but as Glen keeps it so clean, it is fine. The whole house was spotless.
The location could not be better. It's very close (2 mins) to Centre Street, which has a regular bus service to Down Town Calgary or out to the suburbs. Even though it's close to a main road, the house is located in a side street, so it was very quiet at night. Our room was at the front of the house, but we were not disturbed at all.
I would recommend Tuxedo House to anyone looking for a good value for money accommodation. We paid $450 for our 5 night stay. Anyone staying here will not be disappointed. Plus Glen's Australian Shepherd dog, Molly, is so welcoming and will charm anyone.

Julie C and Donna D

Room Tip: There was small area on the first floor landing with tea and coffee facilities and a comfy sofa. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 99 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just a friend and myself staying for 2 days, but it was a fantastic stay. Glen was a wonderful host, very approachable and fantastic to talk to. He prepared breakfast bright and early both days and ensured we were comfortable. He even had recommendations on local eateries and attractions. The rooms and washroom were immaculately clean had have a uniquely homely charm about them. Transport was very close by. Either a 30min walk to the city or a 5min walk to the local bus stop on 16th ave. We have nothing to complain about this place. You will love the house, the hospitality and Molly the dog

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with large queen beds and a single room with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Tuxedo house is a very well kept B&B. Glen is the perfect host and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are all very pretty and comfortable. The bathroom is great with a big soaker tub. Glen makes a lovely and extensive breakfast with home made jam, fruit salad, egg and sausage. The B&B is far enough away from the road to be quiet but nice and close to the airport. To top off a perfect visit, we got to meet Molly, the famous puppy- what a cutie!

Room Tip: They all look good- we had the twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed at many B & Bs but this one has set the new standard. Glen is the perfect host. He was more than willing to tell us about the many sites of Calgary and what to see on our way to the Canadian Rockies. The breakfasts and accomodations were exceptional. The location was ideal for going to the Calgary Stampede and downtown. We simply walked a few blocks to catch the bus, never did any driving once we got there. Obviously.....highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50Chris49Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was in Calgary on a business trip and Glen was great at being just the perfect host. I showed up pretty late but he was up and waiting for me. He made sure I had everything I needed, made me breakfast earlier than normal, and then after his normal hours on my second day.I fell in love with his soft little puppy Molly, liked my delightful room with the chandelier and sink, and loved his jams and breakfast. I wish I could have stayed longer. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeHCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Glen and his beautiful puppy, Molly in his perfectly quaint B and B for three nights in August. Our daughters had their own room with twin beds and we enjoyed our own private room. We all found the beds to be ultra comfortable. Everything was immaculate and tastefully decorated in Victorian style. Breakfasts were delicious and Glen was kind enough to accommodate an early breakfast for us on our last morning. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelownadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This B&B is situated 20 mins walk from calgary city centre but if you dont wish to walk at the end of the road is the bus straight into town. our room and the house in general is over the top english decorrated with tea sets, english furniture and embroidered linnen but this makes it fantastic! Glen is the host and feeds you well, gives travel advice and assistance and has a charm which is driven by honest pasion, not just the room fee. Couldnt fault.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 110 in Calgary
2,367 reviews
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillurst
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Northwest Calgary
Along River Ridge
Along River Ridge
#5 of 57 in Calgary
116 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuxedo House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuxedo House B&B

Address: 121 21 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing