We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuxedo House Has it All!”
Review of Tuxedo House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuxedo House B&B
Ranked #5 of 58 Calgary B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed in Tuxedo House for 10 days in July. Great location for both Calgary and day trips to Rockies and surounding areas..Bedroom and house were immaculate. Spacious bedroom, beautiffuy decorated and lovely to return to after a day of sightseeing. Loved breakfast time meeting with other friendly guests from around the globe and getting helpful advice and great suggestions from Glen for places to see and explore. Glen.a most gracious host made us very welcome and kept us laughing, many thanks to Glen and Missie for making our trip a most wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyandHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

We found the place surfing on the internet, without knowing tripadvisor. We stayed two nights and loved it. We returned for one night a week later, unplanned. We loved the place; Glen pays attention to every details, and makes sure his guests enjoy their stay. On top of it, we met very nice people who were staying there as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penelope051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We just stayed here for 1 night but we really enjoyed it! The room was clean and cosy and the free wifi was a bonus! Glen, the owner is absolutely lovely and his dog Missy is so sweet! Breakfast was delicious, freshly made bread and jam which was a great bonus! Only downside is the shared bathroom between all the guests but we did not find this a problem! I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 07lmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Glen is a wonderful host, the rooms are huge and everything is spotlessly clean. Breakfast the following morning was hearty and wholesome and set us up nicely for our return flight. We stayed here for one night on our way back to Calgary before we flew home. It is in a great location, close to the town and airport but is not noisy. There are adequate shops and restaurants within walking distance if you do not have a car. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonEssexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Tuxedo House is a superb B&B located just outside of downtown (40 minute walk to the Calgary Tower). Glen (and Missy, Glen's dog) are excellent hosts, and you couldn't ask for anything more. Glen prepared a different breakfast each day we were there, but there was always cereal and fruit to complement the breakfast. Our first night there we had to be up early to catch a bus trip, and Glen was up early at 6:30 in order to make us eggs for breakfast (we assured him that cereal would be more than fine with us, but he insisted on making us something warm).
There are three rooms on the upper floor that share a bathroom which has a shower stall and a soaker tub. There is also a sitting area and a small counter so you can make tea/coffee. Off the sitting area is a small balcony overlooking Glen's manicured gardens. Our room had two beds and a television.
I can't imagine ever staying anywhere else in Calgary now that I've been spoiled by Glen at Tuxedo House.
If I could give this B&B more than 5 out of 5, I would, because it is above and beyond what you would expect from a B&B in this price point.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdngirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

My Husband, 3yr old Daughter and I stayed with Glen for 8 nights!!! We had a FABULOUS time and Glen Made us feel right at home! AWESOME breakfast and never the same thing twice!!!

Glen really goes out of his way to make your stay as comfortable and happy as he can! We recommend this accommodation to EVERYONE!!!

Glen and Missy..... WE WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolly_popUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My sister, her hubby, my daughter & I stayed here while attending my niece's wedding in Calgary. I chose it based on reviews here. It was actually better than the reviews!! First off, Glen was very accommodating. My brother in law arrived in the wee hours and he made arrangements for him to get in. He had parking permits for our rental cars. We LOVED the nearby Greek restaurant, Italian Deli and used book store that were walking distance away. It was a perfect way to spend an afternoon/evening getting over Jet Lag. We then went over to the Deerfoot Lodge/Casino where the rest of our family was staying and seeing their rooms and the prices they paid made us appreciate Tuxedo House even more.

Glen had a free pass for the Calgary Tower as well, which was a nice unexpected perk. The yard/garden was particularly enjoyable even though we weren't in it for long. The decorations, service and convenient location really couldn't be beat. On our way back from a week in the Rockies we were unable to get a room here and had to stay at an un-named hotel en-route to the airport and it was such a let-down after Tuxedo House.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank ndantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,440 reviews
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillurst
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Northwest Calgary
Along River Ridge
Along River Ridge
#6 of 58 in Calgary
116 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuxedo House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuxedo House B&B

Address: 121 21 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing