We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than I expected”

Stetson Village Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stetson Village Inn
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great Fun! Excellent Service. We arrived in Calgary after a long drive. Had a pleasant check-in. Front Desk guy was very helpful with directions. The rooms were dated, but clean and spacious. And a great price as we were on a budget. We were a little hungry, not knowing what to expect, we decided to just order an appetizer from the pub, and if we liked it we'd have more. Wow I ordered soup which was the best tomato soup I ever had. We decided to go to the pub for beers and more food. Great prices and excellent food. Try the Caesar Burger. YUM.
No coffee pot or complimentary breakfast in room so we went into the cafe the next morning. (free coffee voucher) we had a great breakfast early bird special (bacon, eggs home made hashbrowns and toast for $4.99). Awsome Much better than a stale dry muffin and instant coffee that the hotles with comp breakfast give you. The cafe staff were great. We will be back and highly recommend the Stetson--Motel, Pub and Cafe

Room Tip: Oops forget the room number it was non-smoking. The motel still offered smoking rooms. Which I gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    3
    3
    11
See reviews for
11
4
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Room + amenities; Basic but quite spacious. I did not have a "kitchen", but there was at least a fridge, which was nice. Ok tv's, standard cable, NO COFFEE MAKER or even an alarm clock. I had no wifi in my room, which the front desk completely lied to me about and just never fixed. I had to stand out the window to use it. The noise was a bit of an issue, they are paper thin walls. If the hotel was full, that would be a big issue.

Cleanliness; This is an old hotel, and desperately needs updating, but for the shape of the place, they did a good job cleaning daily. Housekeeping doesn't go into the drawers, or under the sink or anywhere else that "good hotels" clean, but for what they are working with, good effort.

Price; $80, tax in at time of booking. This was 25% cheaper than anything else in the area.

Staff; Housekeepers were polite, front desk was quite simply inept. One man in particular didn't even look at you went in the office and always acted like you were interupting him. Not sure how he keeps his job, unless he is the owner?

In conclusion; It was cheap. This seems like the place for workers in town that are getting the weekly rate and are willing to put up with some annoyance to save money. If you are in town for just a night or two, spend the extra $$ and get something ranked better. Would rather not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadiantruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had stayed here for two weeks with my husband. We were here for business and so I had paid weekly, otherwise we wouldnt have stayed here that long. The first night was ok, the rooms are incredibly dry (we both woke up with bloody noses) and very very noisey. You can hear everything in this hotel. I could hear ppl upstairs peeing, pacing the room, his TV, and his conversations. A couple stayed next to us, and they were big time crack heads. We heard them having sex, arguing, cracking their beers, EVERYTHING. We had to complain about them every night but nothing ever came of it. They stayed their whole duration, even though if we recorded with our phones they might as well of been standing right in front of us. The staff were really rude. Once, when I was complaining about the crack head couple, the front desk lady with grayhair and pink lips told me she couldnt move them they were full (next night hotel was empty except us and them), and that if anything she would move ME!! She also gave me the third degree about where I smoke and how much I smoke at home because we were staying in a smoke free room. I had to tell her, not that it was any of her business, that my husband and I smoke very little and not inside and that it was OUR CHOICE what room we had. What a witch! The second worst part, after the crack head couple, was finding a crack pipe equipped with lighter and little white rock under my bathroom sink. The only reason this was second worst was because it didnt make noise. The cleaning lady is nice, but not too thorough and so it stayed there right up until the day we left. Ill bet if you stay in rm 5, itll still be there. Do not stay here, anyone. This is a crack shack and you wont get your moneys worth even if it is the cheqpest rate in town. There is a reason for it.

Room Tip: Stay some where else.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawnee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

i stayed here for 8 months last year, not too bad. rooms are fairly clean. into 6 weeks stay this year and every trip to the office is a screw up and now they over booked so i have no room for 3 days. so sick and tired of the idiots at front desk, irresponsible morons

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chebby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We used this motel as "overflow" sleeping accommodation for a large family gathering in a nearby neighbourhood. Location and price were the deciding factors. The location isn't very attractive: McLeod Trail big box / commercial strip, backs up to a Kal Tire, across the road from a Superstore.

Check-in was seamless, they had our reservation, pleasant and knowledgeable staff (the owner?)

Grade level entry "1960's style" was nice for the bicycle were were carrying and using.

Room (one queen bed only) was spacious and quite clean, carpet and mattress reasonably new, no dust bunnies. Bathroom is dated (many years of Ajax cleanings have dulled the finish of the porcelain bathtub) but has seen some maintenance and upgrades.

Traffic noise from McLeod Trail was surprisingly not an issue. Air conditioner (hot August night) was thankfully not excruciatingly loud.

The price is right! $80 (seniors / AMA rate) and that is including tax. You get what you pay for and that is "NO FRILLS": no kettle / coffeemaker, no glasses or china mugs.

There was, however a tiny bar fridge in the room. The ice machine worked.

We did not try the attached restaurant "99 Ave Cafe".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank energizer0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is a very basic hotel, that is quite a distance from the airport or the road to Banff and the National Parks. The rooms are very dark making it a challenge to work the air-conditioning, and lack even coffee making facilities, let alone a fridge. No breakfast is offered, but I was given a voucher for a free coffee in the coffee shop next door – but this had closed at 3pm and didn’t reopen until 7am ! That coffee shop is next to a seedy pub. There is a real problem with noise, due to thin walls, and a noisy walkway outside the room that the smokers choose to use for a late night conversation. Add to that a noisy alarm in one of the local buildings which went off intermittently between 2 and 4am and it wasn’t the best of night’s sleep. The upstairs rooms are reached by a metal staircase that is showing signs of rust, with one of the steps being decidedly steeper than the others. All in all there is nothing to recommend this hotel apart from the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I have stayed at this propery several times over the past year while visiting family in Calgary. While it is definitly not the fanciest hotel in the area it is a great location and value for the price. It is an older hotel and could definitly benifit from a update. But, if you are only using the room to sleep and shower, as we were, it is perfect. There is a restaurant on the property that is very popular with the locals and the prices are reasonable. Free wi fi and very helpful and friendly staff make this older hotel very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freezinginMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stetson Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stetson Village Inn

Property: Stetson Village Inn
Address: 10002 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 3K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Stetson Village Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stetson Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stetson Village Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing