We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 57 Calgary B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at River Wynde for 3 nights in a little room out back (converted garage) and we loved it. The B & B is in a great location (Kensington), and we could walk downtown in 10 minutes. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The only downside is that the bathroom is inside the house (a couple steps across the yard from the room.) The host was awesome and her breakfasts were very tasty. We enjoyed homemade granola, fresh yogurt and fruit, juice and coffee. Others at the table chose a southwest-style burrito. Like many B & B's, breakfast is served with other guests - which can be nice.

The price was very reasonable. River Wynde is a great alternative to Calgary's pricey hotels. We liked that we had our own little space which felt like home. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The B & B is in an older character home. We were originally going to stay in the house but chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Alert to those who won't stay at a B&B with shared bathrooms! If you're going to Calgary, read on. My wife and I stay at B&B's often and a private bathroom is a must. We didn't realize when we reserved our five nights at River Wynde that the bathrooms are shared. Shockingly, it didn't matter a bit. When we were there, the place was full, but it is so well run that the bathrooms were immaculate all the time. Absolutely not an issue.

Deanne runs this place like a swiss watch in fuzzy slippers. Many of the guests were frequent customers and the place couldn't have been more familiar and friendly. The location is fantastic in a busy sort of bohemian neighborhood. Delicious, fresh, hearty breakfast. Beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattfromDenver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed three nights with Deanne in July and cannot emphasise too much how we enjoyed our stay. Perfect hostess, comfortable bed and great breakfasts. Deanne, most helpful on where to visit and eat. Very easy 10 to 15 minute walk to the city. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great stay at this well run B&B. It was close to downtown, the other guests were very nice, and the breakfast is really good, particular since I am intolerant of a wide variety of foods. Out hostess, Deanne, was great in preparing an excellent breakfast every day. Good food, good baking and good breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I could not keep from writing a review of the wonderful paradise home away at the River Wynde. Located across the Bow River and but a walk. To the trend Kensington hood or across the bridge to downtown, this home, location is brilliant. The hostess, Deanne Mudd, was everything her cheery self promised to be when I booked my reservation. While in Calgary for a conference for 4 days, I was always happy to return home to see Deanne busily preparing and welcoming guests. She was never too busy to sit down and chat, have a glass of wine, or share some tips of where to eat, drink and shop! The streetscape where her home is located is charming, quiet and the paradise one needs after long days. The backyard deck is a wonderful balance of walkways, seating and gardens that Deanne cares for when it is not raining! My room was wonderful with the daily beehive creams and any other toiletry needs. At the end if it all it was a wonderful place to stay with such warmth and an always open door to chat, laugh, and share stories with the various travellers! I can not say it needed anything because Deanne seems to have it captured. The morning breakfasts were fantastic and in fact, if she posted them on her website that would maybe help me relive the paradise Calgarian style she provides!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderfully appointed. No real special one as they are all perfect in my view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the River Wynde and had an absolutely brilliant time. The room (Sun room) was perfect, comfy bed, lots of character and a lovely little balcony. The overall location was perfect as Kensington is. Gorgeous area and its only 10-15 minutes walk down town or a quick bus ride for $3. The hosts Deanne and Diana were so friendly and welcoming, took a keen interest in chatting to us and we had a lovely time hanging out in the beautiful kitchen. The breakfast as well was superb, better than what you would pay for in a cafe and different each morning. All in all fabulous and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Please note no swimming pool available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back to see us again very soon......De and Di

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at River Wynde for 2 nights at the Sun Room, and we loved it. The location is fabulous, and the house is really charming, full of character. It is clean, well stocked and the host is lovely and helpful. The room we stayed in is quite small but has a lovely little balcony. It is quite noisy (I mean the house itself, it's old and creaky) and the bed was way too soft for my liking. I can see how the common breakfast can be a bit much if you like your privacy, but the food was delicious, with generous portions, and the conversation was interesting.
Even price-wise it sure beats staying at a motel and buying breakfast on top of that.
I recommend River Wynde and will stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogagirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We really enjoyed you staying with us too. Hope we will see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
#1 of 110 in Calgary
255 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#19 of 110 in Calgary
441 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Northwest Calgary
Along River Ridge
Along River Ridge
#5 of 57 in Calgary
116 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Tending Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast

Address: 220 10a St NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Hillurst , Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: $94 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on a quiet residential street, in the heart of one of the trendiest shopping districts in Calgary. Just minutes away from the downtown core of Calgary by foot or light rail train, we have delivered comfort and value to business and vacation travelers for over thirteen years! Offering many amenities; feather duvets, hot breakfast, loaner bikes, gym access, robes, slippers, high speed wireless internet, large well-appointed rooms with hardwood floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing