We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B near downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B near downtown”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great stay at this well run B&B. It was close to downtown, the other guests were very nice, and the breakfast is really good, particular since I am intolerant of a wide variety of foods. Out hostess, Deanne, was great in preparing an excellent breakfast every day. Good food, good baking and good breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jspilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
40
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I could not keep from writing a review of the wonderful paradise home away at the River Wynde. Located across the Bow River and but a walk. To the trend Kensington hood or across the bridge to downtown, this home, location is brilliant. The hostess, Deanne Mudd, was everything her cheery self promised to be when I booked my reservation. While in Calgary for a conference for 4 days, I was always happy to return home to see Deanne busily preparing and welcoming guests. She was never too busy to sit down and chat, have a glass of wine, or share some tips of where to eat, drink and shop! The streetscape where her home is located is charming, quiet and the paradise one needs after long days. The backyard deck is a wonderful balance of walkways, seating and gardens that Deanne cares for when it is not raining! My room was wonderful with the daily beehive creams and any other toiletry needs. At the end if it all it was a wonderful place to stay with such warmth and an always open door to chat, laugh, and share stories with the various travellers! I can not say it needed anything because Deanne seems to have it captured. The morning breakfasts were fantastic and in fact, if she posted them on her website that would maybe help me relive the paradise Calgarian style she provides!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderfully appointed. No real special one as they are all perfect in my view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the River Wynde and had an absolutely brilliant time. The room (Sun room) was perfect, comfy bed, lots of character and a lovely little balcony. The overall location was perfect as Kensington is. Gorgeous area and its only 10-15 minutes walk down town or a quick bus ride for $3. The hosts Deanne and Diana were so friendly and welcoming, took a keen interest in chatting to us and we had a lovely time hanging out in the beautiful kitchen. The breakfast as well was superb, better than what you would pay for in a cafe and different each morning. All in all fabulous and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Please note no swimming pool available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back to see us again very soon......De and Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at River Wynde for 2 nights at the Sun Room, and we loved it. The location is fabulous, and the house is really charming, full of character. It is clean, well stocked and the host is lovely and helpful. The room we stayed in is quite small but has a lovely little balcony. It is quite noisy (I mean the house itself, it's old and creaky) and the bed was way too soft for my liking. I can see how the common breakfast can be a bit much if you like your privacy, but the food was delicious, with generous portions, and the conversation was interesting.
Even price-wise it sure beats staying at a motel and buying breakfast on top of that.
I recommend River Wynde and will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogagirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We really enjoyed you staying with us too. Hope we will see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent location! I had a car but didn't need to use it once. Kensington is a fantastic historic neighbourhood with interesting stores and great restaurants. I had a beautiful walk along the river to downtown Calgary, and with the host's help found a great yoga studio also within walking distance. The house is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the host helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely. I would definitely stay at River Wynde again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRA1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review! We are so glad you went to our favorite yoga studio- it is such a wonderful place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlyon, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location was wonderful. Close to village, restaurants, public transport. Walking distance to river and downtown Calgary.
The rear garden was beautiful, for eating meals, reading, enjoying a wine in the evening, watching squirrels running up the plum tree.
The room was OK, up narrow steep stairs, bit noisy, shared bathroom with shower over the bath.
As an older solo traveller I found the hearty convivial breakfasts at a small cramped table a bit hard to take.
Our hosts were very helpful, with advice re places of interest and passing on messages etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad you had a chance to enjoy our garden and beautiful city!
We hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, NWT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at River Wynde by myself in the Earth Room and then with my husband in the Forest Room. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and stocked with everything that you might need and the breakfasts were amazing. Deanne and Dianne were both very friendly and accommodating. The location of the B&B is perfect; on a quiet side street but close to shops and restaurants in the Kensington area and just a short walk along the river to downtown Calgary.

Room Tip: The Forest room is bright and sunny and is a good value and size for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowknifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love what we do and try to provide the best experience for all of our guests! Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#25 of 109 in Calgary
392 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast

Property: River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Address: 220 10a St NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Hillurst , Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on a quiet residential street, in the heart of one of the trendiest shopping districts in Calgary. Just minutes away from the downtown core of Calgary by foot or light rail train, we have delivered comfort and value to business and vacation travelers for over thirteen years! Offering many amenities; feather duvets, hot breakfast, loaner bikes, gym access, robes, slippers, high speed wireless internet, large well-appointed rooms with hardwood floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing