We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming place and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 57 Calgary B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at River Wynde for 2 nights at the Sun Room, and we loved it. The location is fabulous, and the house is really charming, full of character. It is clean, well stocked and the host is lovely and helpful. The room we stayed in is quite small but has a lovely little balcony. It is quite noisy (I mean the house itself, it's old and creaky) and the bed was way too soft for my liking. I can see how the common breakfast can be a bit much if you like your privacy, but the food was delicious, with generous portions, and the conversation was interesting.
Even price-wise it sure beats staying at a motel and buying breakfast on top of that.
I recommend River Wynde and will stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogagirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We really enjoyed you staying with us too. Hope we will see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 84 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent location! I had a car but didn't need to use it once. Kensington is a fantastic historic neighbourhood with interesting stores and great restaurants. I had a beautiful walk along the river to downtown Calgary, and with the host's help found a great yoga studio also within walking distance. The house is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the host helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely. I would definitely stay at River Wynde again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRA1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review! We are so glad you went to our favorite yoga studio- it is such a wonderful place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location was wonderful. Close to village, restaurants, public transport. Walking distance to river and downtown Calgary.
The rear garden was beautiful, for eating meals, reading, enjoying a wine in the evening, watching squirrels running up the plum tree.
The room was OK, up narrow steep stairs, bit noisy, shared bathroom with shower over the bath.
As an older solo traveller I found the hearty convivial breakfasts at a small cramped table a bit hard to take.
Our hosts were very helpful, with advice re places of interest and passing on messages etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad you had a chance to enjoy our garden and beautiful city!
We hope you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at River Wynde by myself in the Earth Room and then with my husband in the Forest Room. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and stocked with everything that you might need and the breakfasts were amazing. Deanne and Dianne were both very friendly and accommodating. The location of the B&B is perfect; on a quiet side street but close to shops and restaurants in the Kensington area and just a short walk along the river to downtown Calgary.

Room Tip: The Forest room is bright and sunny and is a good value and size for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellowknifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deannemudd, Owner at River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love what we do and try to provide the best experience for all of our guests! Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Our 3 night stay at this B&B was a pleasant one in every way. A super cute, clean and comfortable room, with all the things you need to feel good and comfortable. The bathroom, wich we had to share, was squeeky clean, every day at every time. It had everything a bathroom should have and more. The yard was very nice and lovely decorated. A perfect place to sit and relax. And if their would be rain, also the kitchens and other inside facilities were cosy and warm. The breakfast was well prepared, they asked about our wishes or allergies. There was always time for a good conversation, they where very interested in us and in our plans. We felt really welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natiemullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very comfy bed and balcony looking into garden.walking distance to downtown. Great delicious breakfasts.Hosts make you feel very welcome and have lots of good sight seeing advice.What else can I say? The place is greeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaatttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have stayed at this wonderfull B & B in Calgary 5 times and usually for the Calgary Stampede. The hosts are wonderfull and very accomodating with a ton of local knowledge for the varied interests of all the guests.

The rooms are large, clean and beautifully decorated. Bathrooms are fully equipped and shampoos are even supplied.

Breakfasts are large and delicious and served at whatever time is convenient for you.

The gorgeous shared backyard with the sister B&B is a very relaxing with a fish pond, extensive floral and vegetable gardens, trees, sitting areas, barbeque, lots of seating and a fire pit.

The location is supberb as it is only a 5 mintue walk to the light rail transit system and only a relaxing 15 minute walk into the heart of Calgary. Very near the beautiful Bow River and the associated parks and walkways. Literally a hundred steps from small shops, bars and resturants in the artistic Kensington area.

We have already booked for next year's Stampede!

Thanks again ladies!

Jo and Ray

Room Tip: Book early if heading to Calgary for the greatest outdoor show on earth! Basically first 2 weeks of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSeekers036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
#1 of 110 in Calgary
254 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#19 of 110 in Calgary
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Northwest Calgary
Along River Ridge
Along River Ridge
#5 of 57 in Calgary
116 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Tending Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast

Address: 220 10a St NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Hillurst , Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: $91 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on a quiet residential street, in the heart of one of the trendiest shopping districts in Calgary. Just minutes away from the downtown core of Calgary by foot or light rail train, we have delivered comfort and value to business and vacation travelers for over thirteen years! Offering many amenities; feather duvets, hot breakfast, loaner bikes, gym access, robes, slippers, high speed wireless internet, large well-appointed rooms with hardwood floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing