We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for some management meetings, and this hotel was booked by our travel planner.

I believe the hotel is a little older, with new banquet rooms and Moxie's restaurant. At least that's how it felt. The rooms look good, and are modern, but have a feel like they have been reno'd at somepoint. I was upgraded to an Executive Suite, which was nice. Had a seperate bedroom, and a small living room area. The room faced south, and was very warn when I got there late afternoon. Had to set the thermostat as low as it could go and open windows. Luckily, the bedroom had an AC unit. It's loud though, so there's no way I could sleep with it on.

The room was quiet otherwise, with no noise from the hall or nearby airport.

We hit up Moxie's for a few drinks, and the service was good, drinks reasonably priced. No complaints here.

Meeting rooms are pretty typical, no complaints here.

Check in and check out was quick and courteous.

Would I stay again? If it was booked for me, then I wouldn't mind. I think there are nicer hotels in the area. Nothing wrong with this Sandman,no complaints of any kind, but nothing that really makes it stand out.

Room Tip: Pick a north facing room, out of the direct sunlight
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 254 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the first time in june 2014 and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable the staff are Very friendly and helpful. . Moxies restaurant is also in this hotel which is nice, they provide room service. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Was a very nice room and the diner is great you get a real good meal there, the only hiccup was the road works to the airport shuts the main road to the airport down so the GPS was no good, Staff all very friendly and helpful, Safe area and good size and clean rooms

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMJW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean hotel! Most of all comfortable beds!

We had a king size bed in our room, very comfortable! The room also had couch and microwave and small fridge!

I would go back again and stay here and I would recommend this hotel. Nice location!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Haleyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a single night in August 2013 after arriving late in the afternoon.
The hotel is fairly close to the airport, but constructions around still made for a 30min trip to/from the airport, so most down town hotels could have been reached in not much longer time.
Service was very nice, rooms were clean, limited choice breakfast is available from a restaurant.
In total: a good but only average airport hotel/motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is relatively close to the airport. It's currently about a 20 minute drive to the airport with the way construction is now. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and modern - as were the bathrooms. The water pressure in the shower was phenomenal by the way!

However, there were a few issues….

The shuttle is on a first-come-first-served basis (i.e. at check-in), and only seats about 6-8 people, so it fills up fast. When we were there on a Sunday, it was running only every 45 minutes, and our first shuttle choice was already full.

The hotel also dings you for a lot of things. The shuttle ride is $5 per person and it costs extra if you want to leave your vehicle here.

The customer service was hit or miss, and we had a lot of discrepancies along the way. But I will say, when we returned from our trip I contacted Sandman directly. The hotel manager (and regional manager as well!) followed up with me about the shuttle, miscommunications regarding fees, etc. She was great to deal with and my issues were resolved to my satisfaction.

Long story short, it's a clean and comfortable hotel if you are looking to catch a flight - just leave plenty of time to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heat912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I had to arrange rooms for 21 people coming in for a sales meeting and Robyn and the rest of the hotel staff made everything SO EASY!! Great stay, great rooms and having a Moxie's only a short walk down the hallway is always a good thing. We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winterpeg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Northeast Calgary
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport

Address: 25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $84 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only minutes from the YYC Calgary International Airport, Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport offers everything for the business and leisure traveler. Multi-purpose meeting and banquet rooms, a business centre, an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, are just some of the amenities this hotel has to offer, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites, Calgary Airport
Sandman Inn Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing