We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before we flew out and the night we returned. The rooms are very out dated. The best were uncomfortable. The room was very warm (February) and the air conditioner was to loud to have running while you slept. The free shuttle to the airport must be booked well in advance before you check in if your flying out in the morning. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djs05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calair, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

I am pleased to advise all of our past, present and future guests that the hotel will be undergoing updating all rooms to flat screen TVs and new bedding packages by the end of April this year. We also have received many comments on how comfortable our beds are, but I know this is a personal preference. With the extreme fluctuations in temperature Calgary faces each winter it is sometimes difficult to adjust the heat to everyone's statisfaction. Had the guest informed the front desk staff we would have been more than happy to move them. As with any hotel shuttle - there is limited capacity and is booked on a first come first served basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 254 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on Jan 26 and 27 and again on Feb 18. Check-in was handled very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We parked our van there for 21 days with no problems. The room was ok but there should be another garbage can in the room. There's only one in the bathroom. The front doors are a problem, as the outside doors are automatic, but the inside doors are manual. This proved a bit difficult, as I'm in a wheelchair and the inside door is a bit hard to open. It's also a bit of a problem for 1 person to get the luggage cart through. The restaurant on site was over priced and absolutely NOT wheelchair friendly.Other than that, I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnepeopleOneblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Staff are nice and efficient the check in handled efficiently and taxi booked for the morning. The hotel is old and worn and my bed was awful. The restaurant attached to the hotel is average at best. The shuttle from the airport was a long wait but that is due to construction. Nevertheless 25 minutes when it's minus 22 is a long time

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to just book a hotel room with a nice restaurant for New Year's Eve so that we didn't have to worry about driving. We chose this hotel because it was close to us and it had a Moxies restaurant. The room was nice and clean, the staff was friendly. The only complain we had was that the pipes in our room (our room was on the main floor) kept making a banging noise every so often. We didn't really complain about it right away as we thought it would just go away. We had our dinner and went back to our room and watched movies while we waited for the New Year's eve count down. We finally went to bed shortly after midnight and the banging from the pipes continued on through the night. If you were a light sleeper, you would probably find it hard to get a good night's sleep. We mentioned it to the staff when we checked out the following morning so hopefully they had it fixed. Other than that, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the New Year's Eve dinner was really good too.

Room Tip: If you get in your room and hear the pipes making noises, ask to be moved at the noise will not stop...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marietta U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is situated near the airport but also close to Calgary city center.
Check in and reception staff friendly and efficient.
Room was clean and confortable with all facilities we needed but rooms and hotel need to be refurbished.
Good restaurant for an evening meal. Breakfast was nothing special but satisfying.
Complementary airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puffin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The room was spacious clean and also had a wonderful soaking tub. It was more like a mini suite than a hotel room. The price was quite reasonable in comparison to some of the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Would recommended it to anyone staying near the hotel and price well.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gidget62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have used the Sandman Hotel due to the proximity to the airport, as we have had a couple of layovers in Calgary in the past year. While not the "Ritz", it was clean. After 2 different stayovers there so far, we have found the rooms to be similar in that they are clean, although someone dated. I would suggest the hotel is older and does not have that new, fresh look, but is fine for a quick overnight before travelling on. Also, with Moxie's restaurant in the hotel, we do not have to leave the building to get a dinner or breakfast. The airport shuttle used to be free and while still free to be picked up, you have to pay now to go to the airport. The staff are usually nice, but we found the front desk person at our 4:30 am checkout time to be less than friendly.

Room Tip: Some guests on the ground floor hear all the people traffic in the hallways coming and going to the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannuk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Northeast Calgary
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport

Address: 25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $84 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only minutes from the YYC Calgary International Airport, Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport offers everything for the business and leisure traveler. Multi-purpose meeting and banquet rooms, a business centre, an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, are just some of the amenities this hotel has to offer, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites, Calgary Airport
Sandman Inn Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing