We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
East Hanover, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and close to airport”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The room was spacious clean and also had a wonderful soaking tub. It was more like a mini suite than a hotel room. The price was quite reasonable in comparison to some of the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Would recommended it to anyone staying near the hotel and price well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gidget62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    84
    78
    19
    19
See reviews for
43
69
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Cda
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have used the Sandman Hotel due to the proximity to the airport, as we have had a couple of layovers in Calgary in the past year. While not the "Ritz", it was clean. After 2 different stayovers there so far, we have found the rooms to be similar in that they are clean, although someone dated. I would suggest the hotel is older and does not have that new, fresh look, but is fine for a quick overnight before travelling on. Also, with Moxie's restaurant in the hotel, we do not have to leave the building to get a dinner or breakfast. The airport shuttle used to be free and while still free to be picked up, you have to pay now to go to the airport. The staff are usually nice, but we found the front desk person at our 4:30 am checkout time to be less than friendly.

Room Tip: Some guests on the ground floor hear all the people traffic in the hallways coming and going to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannuk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I chose the Sandman for it's proximity to the airport. With an airport shuttle service and Moxies it's perfect for a woman travelling alone. I had a late lunch at Moxies prior to checking in, and a lazy evening meal reading the paper and catching up on emails. Service is always good, rooms nice and clean.

Room Tip: Because of the difficulty of the shuttle negotiating the airport construction I'd suggest you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pzwolfDrumheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Check in was fine and staff were friendly. My wife and I stayed in a King suite which seemed "aged" We had some trouble finding an extra electrical outlet for our laptop but did manage to stretch the cord across the room to the table. We noticed the wallpaper coming off the wall around the window, the TV remotes were very hard to function and the baseboard heaters made an incredible "knocking" sound when they were turned on. Bed was comfortable and there was actually a bathroom fan that works. Room was clean but the first floor is not very quiet.

Room Tip: Top floor would not be as noisy in regards to foot travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CranbrookFilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel goes above and beyond to make everything right! we had booked on line thinking everything was directly to this hotel. we very quickly found out this is not so. If you wish to book this hotel and would like the park and stay, call them directly. The manager explained this to us and gave us the park and stay package anyway. Will return to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fenfish2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Traveled to Calgary for a Global Show. Hotel isn't far from Airport or my corporate office. Location & reservation had been setup by our local administrator. Hotel was clean, looked to be a bit dated compared to other hotels in the area. Several room amenities for the extended stay traveler. Gym was a bit small. Had dinner and drinks at Moxie’s several times, great place. All in all not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjbosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We chose to stay at the Sandman Calgary Airport before an early morning flight to Montreal. We had to be at the airport before 6 AM. The rooms at the Sandman are clean with comfortable beds. There are decent towels in the bathrooms, not the little thin ones you get at some medium-priced hotels. The price of a room with a Queen bed is just $149.00 plus taxes. For an additional $5.00 each you can be shuttled to the airport in their van - this is a really good deal especially as you are allowed to leave your car in their parking lot for up to 2 weeks at no charge (make sure you get a pass from the front desk to leave on the dashboard). When you return to the airport you call the shuttle and it picks you up at no charge. What a great deal !! This was perfect for us. we drove the 1 1/2 hours to Calgary and checked in. There's a Moxie's on site so our son and daughter-in-law met us there for dinner. the car was secure, the bed was good, the wake-up call was on time, the shuttle got us to and from the airport efficiently. This makes travel easy and calm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocodrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Northeast Calgary
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport

Property: Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Address: 25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only minutes from the YYC Calgary International Airport, Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport offers everything for the business and leisure traveler. Multi-purpose meeting and banquet rooms, a business centre, an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, are just some of the amenities this hotel has to offer, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites, Calgary Airport
Sandman Inn Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing