We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stampede stopover!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI-Calgary City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Stampede stopover!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed two nights in a dorm and found the staff and facilities excellent. Very comfortable lower bunk bed. Very quiet at night with everyone very respectful of house rules... lights out at 11pm. Free breakfast of pancakes and muffins is an added bonus and a great start to the day.

Very close to all the major downtown attractions and a very short stroll to Stampede.

Only complaint which is not the fault of the hostel is that there is construction going on nearby which starts at about 8am, so bring ear plugs if you fancy a lie in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for posting a review for us! We are happy that enjoyed the Hostel and Stampede experience. We sincerely apologize for the noise of the construction. We do offer complimentary ear plugs behind the front desk if needed. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Jason Wong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    67
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
23
90
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Although with very little to do in Calgary itself, this hostel is perfect for a one or two night stop over.
It's the nearest thing to a hotel I've stayed in with excellent facilities and staff that go beyond the all of duty to help you!
Super convenient for drinks in town or the Train / bus #300 to airport or alternatively a day spent shopping in Chinook Mall (taking full advantage of the 5% tax). !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have stayed here before all be it for one night a couple of years ago. This year I sayed over a Stampede weekend. The staff as always were really helpful. They dealt with my booking, in what is the busiest time of the year in Calgary, really quickly and with no fuss. They changed me to a lower bunk with no bother- mixture of age and not acting my age!! Those ladders to the top bunk can be dangerous, especially at 2am or after! Why people, of a certain age, don't use hostels more is beyond me. They are clean, very well run, inexpensive (relatively in Calgary) and a gerat way for a single traveller to meet people. Fantastic location for the Stampede, only a 10 minute walk away, 15 to the tower and other attractions. It has been refurbished since my last visit which was great. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower bunk when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caballero_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Me and my buddy arrived at this hostel the day before the Calgary Stampede, fearing it would be fully booked. As it turned out, we could get the last two beds for Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. For Friday night there were no more beds available, but the staff told us to check back the next day to see if there had been any cancelations. As it turned out, that was the case and they saved the beds for us. The pancake breakfast was good, although more brown bread, fruit and proper juice would have improved the quality. In my experience the staff was very helpful and kept the hostel clean and running fairly efficiently. The location is excellent, as it is only five minutes walk from Stephen avenue, ten minutes walk from Stampede park and twenty minutes walk from the zoo. The free parking only adds to the benefits that this hostel give you. Prices are high during the Stampede, but for what you're getting, it's pretty much a bargain!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LucasvanBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparwood, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A stayed a few nights while on a course in Calgary. Room, kitchen, bathrooms and general areas were kept clean. A basic breakfast of pancakes and small selection of fruit was included with the stay which you don't see too often with hostels. Staff was very good at keeping the noise level in the hallways and bedrooms down after 11pm. Earplugs were also available if need be (which thankfully, they weren't!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed there for one night with my boyfriend last year and it was great, we had a private room including bathroom and it was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the common area and the breakfast and meeting other backpackers, We'd go there again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyC1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed while in town to see the Flames and was in easy walking distance to the game and town for afterwards.
The hostel was comfortable enough. The bathrooms at the time weren't the cleanest, nor was the communal kitchen, but it was good enough.
As far as hostels go, this is among the better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,465 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Calgary City Centre

Property: HI-Calgary City Centre
Address: 520 7 Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated HI – Calgary City Centre! Start your day off right with our FREE all you can eat breakfast from 7:30am – 9:30am every morning (including buttermilk pancakes, milk, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, bread, jam, peanut butter, muffins, fruit and juice)! Enjoy our newly upgraded FREE high speed WiFi anywhere in the building! Other hostel amenities include: - Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hours - Free parking - Free Computers - Free storage facilities, even after check out - Free local phone calls - Free faxing, photocopying, printing and scanning - Free pool table - Free BBQ usage - Free towels and linen - Brand new TV room with a 60” flat screen TV HI – Calgary City Centre offers 6 bed dorm rooms (female, male and mixed) featuring individual lockers, bed lights, as well as private/family rooms with en-suite and a new 40” flat screen TV; make sure you book ahead as these sell fast! We have upgraded security, including cameras and state of the art door locks throughout the building as we continue to ensure the safety of all our staff and backpackers traveling to Calgary. Our friendly front desk staff are here for you 24 hours a day, available to answer any questions or concerns you may have. We are experts when it comes to getting you around the area, and we always have recommendations for local sightseeing, so don’t be shy! Check our activity boards for daily listings of local events and information. Our hostel is located on the edge of downtown; a 5 minute walk will take you to exactly where you want to be. Within downtown you will find dining, shopping, entertainment and cultural districts for every taste and budget. Other attractions are easy to get to with the help of the nearby C-train (a 2 minute walk from the hostel) that is FREE within the downtown core. Our central location is a great starting point for the next leg of your journey. The airport bus #300 stops two blocks away from the hostel, and the Greyhound bus depot is a short 15 minute train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your HI-Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing