We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, Clean, perfect hostel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI Calgary City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Although with very little to do in Calgary itself, this hostel is perfect for a one or two night stop over.
It's the nearest thing to a hotel I've stayed in with excellent facilities and staff that go beyond the all of duty to help you!
Super convenient for drinks in town or the Train / bus #300 to airport or alternatively a day spent shopping in Chinook Mall (taking full advantage of the 5% tax). !

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MMargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have stayed here before all be it for one night a couple of years ago. This year I sayed over a Stampede weekend. The staff as always were really helpful. They dealt with my booking, in what is the busiest time of the year in Calgary, really quickly and with no fuss. They changed me to a lower bunk with no bother- mixture of age and not acting my age!! Those ladders to the top bunk can be dangerous, especially at 2am or after! Why people, of a certain age, don't use hostels more is beyond me. They are clean, very well run, inexpensive (relatively in Calgary) and a gerat way for a single traveller to meet people. Fantastic location for the Stampede, only a 10 minute walk away, 15 to the tower and other attractions. It has been refurbished since my last visit which was great. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower bunk when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caballero_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Me and my buddy arrived at this hostel the day before the Calgary Stampede, fearing it would be fully booked. As it turned out, we could get the last two beds for Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. For Friday night there were no more beds available, but the staff told us to check back the next day to see if there had been any cancelations. As it turned out, that was the case and they saved the beds for us. The pancake breakfast was good, although more brown bread, fruit and proper juice would have improved the quality. In my experience the staff was very helpful and kept the hostel clean and running fairly efficiently. The location is excellent, as it is only five minutes walk from Stephen avenue, ten minutes walk from Stampede park and twenty minutes walk from the zoo. The free parking only adds to the benefits that this hostel give you. Prices are high during the Stampede, but for what you're getting, it's pretty much a bargain!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank LucasvanBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A stayed a few nights while on a course in Calgary. Room, kitchen, bathrooms and general areas were kept clean. A basic breakfast of pancakes and small selection of fruit was included with the stay which you don't see too often with hostels. Staff was very good at keeping the noise level in the hallways and bedrooms down after 11pm. Earplugs were also available if need be (which thankfully, they weren't!).

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed there for one night with my boyfriend last year and it was great, we had a private room including bathroom and it was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the common area and the breakfast and meeting other backpackers, We'd go there again for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeyC1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed while in town to see the Flames and was in easy walking distance to the game and town for afterwards.
The hostel was comfortable enough. The bathrooms at the time weren't the cleanest, nor was the communal kitchen, but it was good enough.
As far as hostels go, this is among the better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would highly recommend this hostel. The staff were fantastic and really went above and beyond including driving me to the airport when I was late for my flight! The hostel was clean with good kitchen facilities and free breakfast. I could not fault this hostel and think it is excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Beltline
Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,388 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7 Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range: $26 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick back at the newly renovated HI Calgary City Centre, right downtown. Walk two minutes to the free C Train that runs around the city. Find attractions, restaurants, nightlife and shopping minutes away from the front door. Soak up a bit of citylife before heading into the mountains, and take advantage of the hostel's free breakfast, wifi and parking. Highlights: Enjoy many of the city’s main attractions within easy walking distance Easy access to airport shuttle and Greyhound bus terminal Hang out with new friends in our games room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your HI Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing