We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI Calgary City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

When we arrived we booked something wrong so me my dad and mom were very upset. Especially my mom had a hard time. But The manager and staff coped with it very well they were helping very well and they had a lot of patience. We got a room eventually. The room looked very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The lounge area is big and comfy and the kitchen is very big and nice. This hostel is very well organized and the staff is awesome! u also get a free breakfast with pancakes, toast, oatmeal, muffins, orange juice and much more!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hostel has a nice and clean environment. Location is perfect! The people who rent the rooms are pretty decent. The staff is present 24 hours and is very friendly and prompt. Not to mention, cheap yet comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Book a few days in advance. Try and see if co-ed rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have to rave about the service I received at the HI-Calgary City Centre. They really went the extra mile in everything I needed assistance with. When I was checking out, I mentioned I would be traveling to Banff, Lake Louise, then Jasper. I was asked if I had already booked my reservations. I hadn't. They immediately offered to assist me and showed a list of all the places I could stay along the way, then called to make all the reservations. It made such a difference, especially since some were already booked for the weekend.

There is free parking in front and across the street from the hostel, which is rare in the downtown area.

The pancakes, bread, peanut butter, etc. are free.

The patio or outdoor sitting area has several picnic tables and grills.

There is free wifi, a big tv downstairs, pool table and games.

Overall, I felt very comfortable here and would be pleased to come back. Calgary is expensive, so having this hostel at a fair price made it feasable!

Room Tip: If traveling during the warm season, ask for a room downstairs. There isn't airconditioning, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lpaigeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Super convenient location close to everything. Close to the Stampede, downtown, the train. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. Great value for your money!!

Awesome showers, relaxed atmosphere, great big kitchen. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy!!

Definitely book this place if your coming to Calgary!!

Room Tip: Dorms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShawnMcCrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice place. Clean rooms. Clean showers and toilet. The free breakfast was huge. You wont go hungry and its sets u up lovely for the day.

Internet works all over.

Only neg is there seemed to be a few old long timers (or maybe just old working men staying a few weeks) here but all was fine for our stay.

Backpackers will like this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

join the hi-calgary centre! the guys are so helpful, we were lost and they organized so much for us. if you need a nice place to stay, come to that hostel, there is nothing more to say.
you have to check out the agreable couches and the free food cupboard. enjoy!
sophia&veit from germany

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna Sophia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Convinent place, helpful and friendly staffs, warm atmosphere, free breakfast.. Hohoo, I had a great time here and would definitely stay here again when coming back to Calgary! ;)

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank suethkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Beltline
Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,390 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7 Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range: $26 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick back at the newly renovated HI Calgary City Centre, right downtown. Walk two minutes to the free C Train that runs around the city. Find attractions, restaurants, nightlife and shopping minutes away from the front door. Soak up a bit of citylife before heading into the mountains, and take advantage of the hostel's free breakfast, wifi and parking. Highlights: Enjoy many of the city’s main attractions within easy walking distance Easy access to airport shuttle and Greyhound bus terminal Hang out with new friends in our games room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your HI Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing