We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly Disappointed”
Review of Sante Spa at Hotel Le Germain - CLOSED

Sante Spa at Hotel Le Germain
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Santé Spa at Hotel Le Germain Calgary is the ultimate urban sanctuary, a perfect balance to the adrenaline-fuelled pace of modern life.Carefully designed to embrace the senses with soothing introspective contemplation, the use of monochromatic tones and modern functional design create a warm and inviting atmosphere providing the ideal environment to explore the restorative powers of spa. We welcome you to discover our menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, or choose from three one-of-a-kind wellness routes that we have developed specifically to meet the therapeutic needs of Hotel Le Germain guests and Calgarians living and working in the downtown core.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terribly Disappointed”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Girls weekend to celebrate. Similar experience with 4bigdogsCalgary where the massages were booked together in one room without any previous consult and only made known upon arrival. Massage was decent. Then, to ending off with poor customer service to pay our bill feeling rushed to get out as the next service was to begin. The price does not match the service or experience other spas have to offer. Massages at my physiotherapist's office offer much better along with the customer service at a fraction of the price where they do communicate with me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelbug8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service, reasonable priced, not a good spa experience.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel offered good service. The spa however was not great. I had the hot stone massage, requesting deep tissue, but it was pathetic. Way too pricey for the service. Next time we will go to the Hyatt!

Helpful?
4 Thank Naturalcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Spas are about relaxing- aren't they?”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Girls weekend to relax. We booked treatments 6 months in advance. We arrive and are asked "it's ok if you share a room isn't it?" Well no - I don't want to share a room so what discount can I have? This question caused a fleury of back and forth negotiation. They should have been prepared, they should not have double booked our room, they should not have stressed us before our relaxation treatment. A bad start with poor customer service.
The massage ended up being very nice and I left relaxed but I won't be going back....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 4bigdogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One of the best spa/massage places in Calgary.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Sante Spa is at the 12/F of the Hotel Le Germain in downtown Calgary and actually has one of the best services we had so far. The place is minimalist and not the usual run of the mill type where you get to be 'oversold' by the sales people with their products. The couples area is more than adequate - love the warming table and the kind of essential oil they use was mild/organic. It helped most too that after the massage that we were asked feedback from the RMTs. We like that they want to know what worked and they can give a bit of an info sharing on how we can stay de-stressed. Will be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerdrumsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top of the City Spa”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Top floor location shared with hotel health club. New "concierge-less" concept was unusual and interesting. I was alone in a lobby/lounge that is tranquil in neutral colours with comfortable seating, water and nibbles. No retail product in sight. Limited menu of services, but facial was just what I needed in a warm, nurturing atmosphere and delivered with care and professionalism. Perfect after the road trip we endured getting to Calgary.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GetAboutGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaRitual_SanteSpa, Public Relations Manager at Sante Spa at Hotel Le Germain, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to our spa. We hope you will visit again soon and enjoy the amenities and treatments featured at this property.

Christina Arthur-Dick, Marketing Director
Santé Spa at Hôtel Le Germain is the recipient of the 2012 Reader's Choice Award for BEST NEW SPA from Spafinder.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sante Spa at Hotel Le Germain also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing