We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking lot with fire pits, not true camping!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Camping
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Parking lot with fire pits, not true camping!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

for like to camp for the camping experience, having a fire, being out in nature, then this is not the place for you. It was literally a parking lot with fire pits. Fire pits were right in front of where you park and not in the back where it might have been remotely private. You were just a few feet away from the road where you were sitting having a fire. You're parked only a few feet away from the next RV, so no privacy whatsoever. This would be a campground you would stay at simply for the convenience of being close to Calgary but definitely not if you're looking for for a true camping experience go elsewhere if you want to truly “xsmo

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review us. As I have mentioned previously, we are not a wilderness resort. You will be hard pressed to find one only 3 km from the city of Calgary. We are an RV park that was built 27 years ago, when RV's were much smaller in size compared to the big units of today. We are absolutely trying to address these growing pains as our seasonal, staff, and financial limitations will allow. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Mountain View, and I hope to stress for all those reading here, that we are not a forested camping area. We are an RV park minutes from one of the largest cities in Canada. While we can offer fire pits, outdoor activities and some fun that you would enjoy at a wilderness resort, our biggest positive factor is our close proximity to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    14
    9
    12
See reviews for
25
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a group of 14 people with 7 campers for the 2013 Stampede. The Bookings for a group was handled very professional without any problems. Entire group was located in same area.
Stampede breakfasts, diners and shuttle service were all well organized and punctual.
Hospitality of the Owners, Henry , Minni along with Chris and Cara along with staff was 1st class. We had a fantastic time around campsite with them.
Thanks for making our Stampede experience so memorable and would recommend this site to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hello Eugene! So nice to hear from you! We are so glad that you had a great stay here at Mountain View! This year was especially hectic for us because of the flooding in late-June, so it made Stampede 2013 that much more special for us. We were honored to have so many groups - including yours - to celebrate not only the 101st Stampede, but the spirit of our community as we banded together to recover from the damages resulting from the flood.

We had a great time hanging out fire-side and enjoying some music with you guys during your stay here, and are missing your specialty popcorn! You'll have to come back and show us the trick to getting it just right.

Hope to see you again soon, and wish you all the very best,

Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This weekend my daughter and I tented here. It has been the tenth time that I have stayed here. I keep coming back because of the friendly staff and also the cleanliness. I normally get my husband to drop me off because he is not a camper, then stay with one of my children or myself. We always tent and are ready for all types of weather. I am an older lady so like the idea of the store and washrooms being so handy. Also that most of the campers are long time tenants. They always try to accommodate me with the tent site I like.
Thank you so much for another great time,
Jewell and Therese

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petuniatokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Jewell and Therese! We were very happy to host you this past weekend, and the many times you've stayed here in the past! We are honored that you choose us repeatedly - it's customers like you that make it all worth while. The tenting section offers some of the nicest spaces in the entire campground, with lots of trees and open space, and we're glad you enjoy it. Thanks so very much for your kind words, and we look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!

Regards,

Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I arrived sometime in May I think and stayed until August. I only have good things to say about this place. I've stayed at others in the area and this place beats them hands down. I must say that if you are looking for a forested private National forest/Campground then keep looking, this is an RV park first and foremost and but a good one at that. All the staff were very pleasant to deal with, I had the chance to sit with a few of them around the fire pit and they are great people to talk too. Laundry service onsite can get busy but it's very convenient. I was able to find everything I needed when I needed it in a pinch at the store the few times I did.

During stampede the bus service is AWESOME! We took advantage of it once, boarding at 6pm and returning sometime after midnight (Bus leaves after the fire works) and they are very careful to try and not leave anyone behind. And it's $10 per person round trip.. seriously can't get better than that.

The sites were clean and maintained. There are planes that go over head but try and find a place within 50 kms that they don't and if you happen to find one that doesn't I'm sure you'll find a train.. Planes never bothered me at all. I moved sites a couple times, once due to my late booking and another due to my choice at what I thought was the best site in the park (Although only 15 amp). Staff was happy to break out the pencil and eraser and make the requested changes where possible..

Price? They give you a discount for extended stay for serviced RV sites.. I checked others and that wasn't an option. For that reason and all the others staying here was a no brainer..

I have some credit there and I'll be back.. Probably around stampede to take advantage of that shuttle!! Cheers and thanks for helping me with my transition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an0therusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello! We are so very happy that you enjoyed your extended stay with us! You were always pleasant and we enjoyed dealing with you, including moving you over to Site 39 - we are very happy you liked that spot. We do our very best on a daily basis to go above and beyond in satisfying the needs of our customers, and it's very rewarding to hear that our dedication to that goal pays off! You are right - we are most certainly not a forested, private campground, but we are close to the city and offer as many amenities as possible to make up for it. Our shuttle service is very popular among our guests during the Stampede, making it easy and convenient to get right downtown where the action is!

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and can't wait to see you next summer!

Regards,
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Rht is the worse place i ever camp in my live , nasty area , people that are working there are very racist, they offer the worst services the people of another country that is not German .
not you can eat outside because you have bad odor that comes from others, the water that has a very bad smell is horrible the attentions that give you there and the lack of hygiene

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for your critique.

Firstly, I am surprised by your accusations of racism. Over 35% of our current customer base comes from countries outside of Canada. While we do see many people come from Germany, we also host many from the Netherlands, Holland, Switzerland, Austria, Turkey, Israel, Brazil, Japan, Korea, and China. We are an ideal location for guests flying in and out of Canada on vacation because of our close proximity to both the Calgary International Airport, as well as to several of the RV Rental agencies. We VERY REGULARLY deal with customers of different race, culture, and socio-economic status. Our livelihood is greatly impacted by customers originating from other parts of the world and we work hard to ensure we don't ever jeopardize that fact. It is deeply hurtful to us that anyone would ever feel we are practicing "racism". The owner and founder of this business originated from Germany, which is why we can offer service in Germanic languages. He arrived here 60 years ago, in the midst of deep-seeded hatred of people from that region of the world. He experienced extreme racism first-hand, and therefore would never tolerate it from the staff members of his business. The entire time he has lived in this country he has worked closely with immigrants from all over the world, first in the real estate industry, and now in tourism. Practicing discrimination would surely have ruined his unique business ventures long ago.

I'm also surprised that you felt there was a "lack of hygiene". One of the biggest compliments we receive is how clean and well-maintained our facilities and grounds are. I'm very sorry that it didn't meet your standards, and we will continue to strive to maintain our high standard of cleanliness.

Unfortunately we cannot control the "odor from others", since I'm unsure of what that implies, or where you happened to encounter that issue. Otherwise, we thank you for your patronage and critique of our hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Mountain View camp site is a great place to camp.It is close to everything my granddaughter loves it out there. We have parked our trailer out there for about 3 to 4 years from the beginning of May to the end of September.
Was a little disappointed this year my boyfriend thought he told the office that we would be in on June 1st to get our spot. But when we got there the staff in the office told him that was May 1st that they were holding a spot for us. It would have been nice for some to call and ask if we were still interested in a spot. Very disappointed. :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your wonderfully kind words! It is great to hear that your grand-daughter enjoys staying here as well - we love having the kids around and like to make their stay with us fun and memorable too!

I must admit that I'm a little confused about your reservation issue....first you mentioned that you stay each year from May to September, then you said you were arriving in June this year. Were you unable to get a site with us? It is possible that the office staff expected you to arrive in May if you usually do, and it is unfortunate that no one called you to inquire about your arrival date, as that generally IS our policy. We do have many no-shows each season, and we do our best to get in touch with those customers before removing them from our reservation system. I hope that, going forward, we can host you again in the future, as we always enjoy having pleasant, satisfied customers around! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Found the Campsite was close enough to everything yet still out of town. The sites are well laid out, though some are more desirable than others. The laundry facilities are inadequate and exacerbated by staff also using it. There is a laundromat a couple of exits west of there that is great though. Their dumping station is for registered guest oinly. I find this policy offensive. There is a very big city nearby and a facility pay per use should be available to returning residents near the city, and in my opinion this is the beast location for exactly this service. I think they are missing a business opportunity and creating bad feelings among campers.

Room Tip: Don't get a spot too near the pond to the east as the wind may blow smells your way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for your critique of Mountain View Camping. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went! We agree - the laundry room is simply too small during the busy months of July and August, and we are still working towards a potential solution for that issue. Regarding your comment about the staff using those facilities - our staff members all live here in their RV's. They pay to use the laundry room just like our customers do. We cannot fairly expect them to have to take their laundry elsewhere off site. The laundromat west of here is wonderful - they have many more machines than we do and some of our long-term customers do prefer to use that option.

I'd also like to address your comments about the dump station. Unfortunately with the recent flooding in Calgary, we were forced to accept only sewage/grey water from our registered guests, since the sewage treatment facilities that normally accept our waste water (which we have trucked out daily) were all closed. We were having to truck the effluent to a town one hour from here, and were trying to limit our quantities in order to avoid potential back ups and other emergency situations that could have resulted from our holding tanks overflowing. That type of situation would have meant complete evacuation of our customers from the campground, which we certainly wanted to avoid. This was a strenuous and unusual circumstance that we were forced to address. At any other time we DO offer the use of our dump station for a fee to customers off of the road, and since the sewage plants have now re-opened, we've resumed doing so. We recognize that there are very few places left in Calgary who offer this service, and are happy to be able to provide it to those who need it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calgary
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
629 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Hillurst
Westmount River Inn
Westmount River Inn
#1 of 22 in Calgary
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Camping

Property: Mountain View Camping
Address: 244024 Range Road 284 | Site 8, Box 6, RR6, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 km east of Calgary on the Trans-Canada (#1) Highway. 15, 20, or 30 amp fully serviced sites. Showers and laundromat coin-operated. No pets over 30 lbs permitted. Store. Playground, Mini Golf, and horse shoe pits open seasonally. Calgary Stampede (July 4th to July 13th, 2014) - shuttle bus from campground to Stampede Gates. Stampede Pancake Breakfast and Dinner BBQ offered (additional charge). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing