We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great extended stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Camping
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I arrived sometime in May I think and stayed until August. I only have good things to say about this place. I've stayed at others in the area and this place beats them hands down. I must say that if you are looking for a forested private National forest/Campground then keep looking, this is an RV park first and foremost and but a good one at that. All the staff were very pleasant to deal with, I had the chance to sit with a few of them around the fire pit and they are great people to talk too. Laundry service onsite can get busy but it's very convenient. I was able to find everything I needed when I needed it in a pinch at the store the few times I did.

During stampede the bus service is AWESOME! We took advantage of it once, boarding at 6pm and returning sometime after midnight (Bus leaves after the fire works) and they are very careful to try and not leave anyone behind. And it's $10 per person round trip.. seriously can't get better than that.

The sites were clean and maintained. There are planes that go over head but try and find a place within 50 kms that they don't and if you happen to find one that doesn't I'm sure you'll find a train.. Planes never bothered me at all. I moved sites a couple times, once due to my late booking and another due to my choice at what I thought was the best site in the park (Although only 15 amp). Staff was happy to break out the pencil and eraser and make the requested changes where possible..

Price? They give you a discount for extended stay for serviced RV sites.. I checked others and that wasn't an option. For that reason and all the others staying here was a no brainer..

I have some credit there and I'll be back.. Probably around stampede to take advantage of that shuttle!! Cheers and thanks for helping me with my transition.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank an0therusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello! We are so very happy that you enjoyed your extended stay with us! You were always pleasant and we enjoyed dealing with you, including moving you over to Site 39 - we are very happy you liked that spot. We do our very best on a daily basis to go above and beyond in satisfying the needs of our customers, and it's very rewarding to hear that our dedication to that goal pays off! You are right - we are most certainly not a forested, private campground, but we are close to the city and offer as many amenities as possible to make up for it. Our shuttle service is very popular among our guests during the Stampede, making it easy and convenient to get right downtown where the action is!

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and can't wait to see you next summer!

Regards,
Cara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Camping
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Rht is the worse place i ever camp in my live , nasty area , people that are working there are very racist, they offer the worst services the people of another country that is not German .
not you can eat outside because you have bad odor that comes from others, the water that has a very bad smell is horrible the attentions that give you there and the lack of hygiene

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for your critique.

Firstly, I am surprised by your accusations of racism. Over 35% of our current customer base comes from countries outside of Canada. While we do see many people come from Germany, we also host many from the Netherlands, Holland, Switzerland, Austria, Turkey, Israel, Brazil, Japan, Korea, and China. We are an ideal location for guests flying in and out of Canada on vacation because of our close proximity to both the Calgary International Airport, as well as to several of the RV Rental agencies. We VERY REGULARLY deal with customers of different race, culture, and socio-economic status. Our livelihood is greatly impacted by customers originating from other parts of the world and we work hard to ensure we don't ever jeopardize that fact. It is deeply hurtful to us that anyone would ever feel we are practicing "racism". The owner and founder of this business originated from Germany, which is why we can offer service in Germanic languages. He arrived here 60 years ago, in the midst of deep-seeded hatred of people from that region of the world. He experienced extreme racism first-hand, and therefore would never tolerate it from the staff members of his business. The entire time he has lived in this country he has worked closely with immigrants from all over the world, first in the real estate industry, and now in tourism. Practicing discrimination would surely have ruined his unique business ventures long ago.

I'm also surprised that you felt there was a "lack of hygiene". One of the biggest compliments we receive is how clean and well-maintained our facilities and grounds are. I'm very sorry that it didn't meet your standards, and we will continue to strive to maintain our high standard of cleanliness.

Unfortunately we cannot control the "odor from others", since I'm unsure of what that implies, or where you happened to encounter that issue. Otherwise, we thank you for your patronage and critique of our hard work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Mountain View camp site is a great place to camp.It is close to everything my granddaughter loves it out there. We have parked our trailer out there for about 3 to 4 years from the beginning of May to the end of September.
Was a little disappointed this year my boyfriend thought he told the office that we would be in on June 1st to get our spot. But when we got there the staff in the office told him that was May 1st that they were holding a spot for us. It would have been nice for some to call and ask if we were still interested in a spot. Very disappointed. :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We sincerely appreciate your wonderfully kind words! It is great to hear that your grand-daughter enjoys staying here as well - we love having the kids around and like to make their stay with us fun and memorable too!

I must admit that I'm a little confused about your reservation issue....first you mentioned that you stay each year from May to September, then you said you were arriving in June this year. Were you unable to get a site with us? It is possible that the office staff expected you to arrive in May if you usually do, and it is unfortunate that no one called you to inquire about your arrival date, as that generally IS our policy. We do have many no-shows each season, and we do our best to get in touch with those customers before removing them from our reservation system. I hope that, going forward, we can host you again in the future, as we always enjoy having pleasant, satisfied customers around! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Found the Campsite was close enough to everything yet still out of town. The sites are well laid out, though some are more desirable than others. The laundry facilities are inadequate and exacerbated by staff also using it. There is a laundromat a couple of exits west of there that is great though. Their dumping station is for registered guest oinly. I find this policy offensive. There is a very big city nearby and a facility pay per use should be available to returning residents near the city, and in my opinion this is the beast location for exactly this service. I think they are missing a business opportunity and creating bad feelings among campers.

Room Tip: Don't get a spot too near the pond to the east as the wind may blow smells your way.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for your critique of Mountain View Camping. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went! We agree - the laundry room is simply too small during the busy months of July and August, and we are still working towards a potential solution for that issue. Regarding your comment about the staff using those facilities - our staff members all live here in their RV's. They pay to use the laundry room just like our customers do. We cannot fairly expect them to have to take their laundry elsewhere off site. The laundromat west of here is wonderful - they have many more machines than we do and some of our long-term customers do prefer to use that option.

I'd also like to address your comments about the dump station. Unfortunately with the recent flooding in Calgary, we were forced to accept only sewage/grey water from our registered guests, since the sewage treatment facilities that normally accept our waste water (which we have trucked out daily) were all closed. We were having to truck the effluent to a town one hour from here, and were trying to limit our quantities in order to avoid potential back ups and other emergency situations that could have resulted from our holding tanks overflowing. That type of situation would have meant complete evacuation of our customers from the campground, which we certainly wanted to avoid. This was a strenuous and unusual circumstance that we were forced to address. At any other time we DO offer the use of our dump station for a fee to customers off of the road, and since the sewage plants have now re-opened, we've resumed doing so. We recognize that there are very few places left in Calgary who offer this service, and are happy to be able to provide it to those who need it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Bender group of 16 people stayed at Mountain view Camp Ground and had a wonderful experience. The camp ground was clean and the hospitality from the owners and staff were top notch. A special thanks to Cara and Chris for making this a real memory.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWBALLANTYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello to the Bender Group! We had such a great time hosting you guys! Glad you had a pleasant time here at Mountain View. You are an amazing group of people and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

the tenting price comes out to about 1200$ per month for a fire pit and a junker old pick-nick table, extra cost for showers and internet, tiny little "food" shop has almost no real food but what they have is expensive for the crap it is. unless you prepay you will have to move every day to a new spot. lots of noise from airplanes. save yourself a headache and stay away!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darwyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Hello, and thanks for your critique. We recall serving you during your stay here and would first like to say that the ignorant, rude names you called several of our staff members was inappropriate and unfair. Regardless of the pricing, rules, and regulations we have in place, they just work here, and do not deserve such negative treatment at any time. Your short, disrespectful manner was unnecessary.

The cost for a tenting site is $38.00 per night. This is advertised here as well as on our website. Also, our operating permit does not allow us to register any guest in a tenting site for longer than 7 days at a time. This is the county's way of limiting any transient-type accommodation here. So, it is physically impossible for anyone to stay here in a tenting site for a month at a time, and therefore no one would ever pay $1200 per month. Our long-term stay sites all have services at them for RV's only, and those guests receive a 40% discount over the daily rate.

We do offer a few grocery items: milk, bread, butter, eggs, fruit and vegetables, canned goods, coffee, tea, pasta, snack foods and toiletries. We are NOT a grocery store - but we do have a small offering of necessities for our guests who may have forgot something when they packed up their RV's, or for our overseas guests who don't need a fully-stocked refrigerator.

As for moving every day: you happened to arrive on the first day of the BUSIEST time of the year. The entire 10 days of the Calgary Stampede have been fully booked for SEVERAL months prior to your arrival. There were close to 1000 guests in our park at the time of your stay. We did our best to make sure you had a place to put your tent for the couple of days you needed to stay with us here. In fact, you were fortunate to receive a site with a firepit and a table at all - many of our guests are using our first-come, first-served overflow area during this very busy time. Those spaces do not have any firepits at all. We did our best to provide you with a space, but it unfortunately came with the need to move to an available space the next day because we simply didn't have the room in the one you were already in - it was booked to someone who planned their vacation in advance. We have had to turn away many, many customers who would have happily enjoyed the site you were given at this hectic, but thoroughly fun and enjoyable celebration we call the Stampede!

I have already addressed the airplane issue here on another review, but will re-iterate here. This campground is located 17 km's from the airport's location. We are just 3 km from the Calgary City limits - a very large city where 1.3 million people call home. This is not a wilderness resort. Choosing to stay in a location so close to an urban center comes with many factors associated with the higher population density, including a higher noise level. If our proximity to the city was a requirement for you, I struggle to understand the logic behind your complaint.

On a side note, I hope you enjoyed the ribs, fried rice, and salad we served you the other night after you called several of us such awful names. We take pride in our service and do our best to accommodate as many customers and their various needs at any one time, and we are sorry that your needs were not met. Regardless, treating people rudely and unfairly is never fair, and we are not required to tolerate such treatment at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for for 3 nights. Campground and washrooms are very clean. Although, if you're looking for space, around here it's limited. Sites are crammed together with little space between you and your neighbor. Kids had fun at the park and mini golf course they have on site.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara B, Manager at Mountain View Camping, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to comment! We appreciate hearing our customer's feedback and we are happy that your kids enjoyed our mini golf and playground areas! We take pride in the overall cleanliness of our facilities, and are aware of the space limitations within the park. I would like to note that when we built the campground 27 years ago RV's were MUCH smaller in size, so the sites were certainly more spacious at that time. We are working towards altering the layout of some of the sections of the campground to provide more space, but this is still a work in progress. We will continue to work hard to give our customer's positive experiences and an enjoyable stay in the Calgary area! Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calgary
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
683 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Camping

Address: 244024 Range Road 284 | Site 8, Box 6, RR6, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 km east of Calgary on the Trans-Canada (#1) Highway. 15, 20, or 30 amp fully serviced sites. Showers and laundromat coin-operated. No pets over 30 lbs permitted. Store. Playground, Mini Golf, and horse shoe pits open seasonally. Calgary Stampede (July 4th to July 13th, 2014) - shuttle bus from campground to Stampede Gates. Stampede Pancake Breakfast and Dinner BBQ offered (additional charge). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing