We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great way to get around downtown Calgary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calgary's +15 Skywalk

Calgary's +15 Skywalk
Ranked #16 of 292 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great way to get around downtown Calgary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

especially useful if the weather is too hot or cold - will take you though office buildings and shopping and restaurants

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BreKir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    106
    30
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Alternative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The skywalk is a great alternative to walking outside when the weather is poor. Lots of services are also found in the Skywalk like restaurants. Having lived in Calgary for 7 years and then returning after 10, I did get lost! But the Calgarians are always helpful and pointed me in the right direction.

GJS

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skulmoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sidewalks in the sky.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, I love the when it is -20 C but they really are just indoor walkways between buildings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Calgary's ACTUAL Downtown Streets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I may be biased because I walk the +15's daily and they save me from the cold death of winter, but in all fairness, the +15 walkway is basically the actual streets of Calgary. You can get anywhere in downtown through this maze, and you will find anything you need. There are restaurants, food courts, dry cleaners, and about 100 Starbucks and Tim Horton's coffee shops. There is also musicians playing music throughout the day, crazy people to watch, and well, all of The Core shopping center encompassed within this system.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank no_stops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Move from a building to a building without going outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Calgary's +15 Skywalk can be good walkways in inclement weather. This walkways are quite useful under cold Calgarian winter. As you may already witnessed, Calgarians don't like cold weather. When you wait for your train at a LRT station, you will see Calgarians who don't come outside a LRT station building or an adjacent building, and only when their LRT arrives, they scurry to get on the train. As I said above, in this manner, this walkways are quite useful in rainy and cold weather.

You can download the Skywalk map at the City of Calgary website. The search word is "Calgary +15 Skywalk Map (Pocket Size)." If you don't have this map at your first visit, you will be bound to get lost.

Pro: The City of Calgary has been promoting "Downtown Public Art Circuit tour." You will see some pieces of art by following this walkways. This self-guided tour is through the very Calgary's +15 Skywalk system. Prepare your Skywalk Map.
Con: First floors are more watchable than the second or the third floors. Most of the time, you will see endless fastfood restaurants of same brand names along the Calgary's +15 Skywalk. Especially avoid the walkways of "Canada Place" and "Bow Valley Square" at lunch hours(noon - 1pm). Sardines of downtown office workers there are gathered to eat at the Calgary's +15 Skywalk food courts. People watching experience wasn't bad at all. I could see how typical Calgarian office workers at downtown dress and hear what they talk about. Seeing endless fastfood restaurants of same brand names was unsavory. Actually it was a torture.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank outwears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary's +15 Skywalk also viewed

 

Been to Calgary's +15 Skywalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing