We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you have lots of time” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4th Spot Kitchen and Bar

4th Spot Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #98 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Make sure you have lots of time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The food may be good, but you have to wait for it. And wait. And wait. I ordered a pizza to go and waited and hour and 20 minutes. Really? For a pizza? Which is bad enough, but I couldn't get a straight answer about when it would be ready. First it would be ready in half and hour (reasonable). At 1/2 hour, it would be another 15 minutes (ok) at the 65 minute mark, it was 'just coming out of the oven it will be 2 minutes. 20 minutes later, it had just come out of the oven. Good pizza, but way not worth the aggravation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    48
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Place, Terrible Burger”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was in the mood for a burger, and I've been on a quest to find the best burgers in Calgary. I quick search turned up 4th Spot Kitchen and Bar as a contender, so I thought I'd check it out.

This is a great, cozy, inviting spot. I sat out on the patio to enjoy the last gasps of summer. My first pleasant surprise was they had Newcastle Brown Ale on tap, so I ordered one, and it was good as always. Next, I decided to order the basic burger (Spot On Burger I believe it was called), with extra cheese and bacon. The server echoed what I'd read on another rating site telling me that the plac was rated number 6 in Calgary for burgers.

The good news was that the fries were great. The bad news is that not only wasn't this one of the best burgers in Calgary, it was on of the worst burgers I've had - period. The sad part is that most of the elements were there. The bun was chiabatta, it had real cheddar cheese, fresh tomatoes, and fresh lettuce. That's where the goodness stopped. When I order a burger I want BEEF. Not meatloaf mix. Not sausage mix. This was some awful meatloaf mixture with so much breadcrumbs that it almost had the texture of having a third piece of bun rather than something made of beef. There was far too much seasoning salt. Between the breadcrumbs and the salt, you really couldn't taste any meat at all.

The other thing was that the burger was incredibly dry. There was no ketchup, mayo, mustard, relish, or any other liquid condiment in there. I asked my server for mustard, thinking perhaps that would improve the taste and moisten the burger. She disappeared for 10 minutes, and when she returned she said she'd searched the restaurant and couldn't find mustard. Really? Seriously? This is a pub / burger joint, and you DON'T have mustard. What's more, you didn't know you don't have mustard and had to search for 10 minutes? She should have known where to look, and the correct answer should either have been that they were out of mustard, or they don't stock mustard. If they actually do stock it and have poor enough inventory control that they completely ran out (I'd expect a place like this to have a dozen bottles or a huge jug from which they can fill one of those little metal bowls), then that doesn't speak well of the management.

It's so easy to serve a great burger. Use beef and nothing else. Use fresh ingredients (they did that), use a nice bun (they did that), put some may or mustard on it to moisten it, and serve it with a condiment caddy holding ketchup, mustard, vinegar, hot sauce, and HP so people can add what they want. A good burger is such a simple concept, yet such a foreign one to some restaurants.

I'm giving it one roundel for the fries, and the other for having Newcastle Brown Ale on tap at a great price. The burger scores zero.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelSkeptic43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Went for the pizza, it was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tried the thin crust pizza on a recommendation, the pizza toppings were excellent but the crust was over done. Had a hard time cutting the crust.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wingman_ready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This restaurant is awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The food in this restaurant is consistently excellent along with the service. The atmosphere is also extremely pleasing. The prices for what you get are excellent especially on their specialty nights. Prepare to wait in line though as it can get busy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wweck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It could be the most popular restaurant in Calgary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

But there is something missing.
Great menu,
Great location for the area (not a lot in the area)
Great inside appearance and atmosphere.

All I can think of is the staff and management. 90 percent of the time I've been there, they have messed up my bill. They have their menu listed online. I went during there happy hour and they said they don't honour those prices because there old. (the manager Heather) Really, you publish prices on the internet and you are going to make an issue like it the customers fault? Hmmm.
One other time they charged me full price for a half price pizza when the whole evening was 1/2 price pizza.

Several other other occasions they charged different prices than the menu and gave some lame excuse.

There is no reason that this restaurant should be lined up down the block every night. It busy, but not that busy.
The staff seem to be party buddy's and often seem to hang out at the bar when their off shift and definately lacks the professionalism of a restaurant that will take this restaurant to a different level.
I will likely drop in again sometime. Hopefully they will get their act together.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DCVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4th Spot Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to 4th Spot Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing