We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murrieta's Bar & Grill

Murrieta's Bar & Grill
Ranked #75 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
478 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Tucked away inside a hotel, on a street adjacent to Stephen Ave, I wouldn't have found this restaurant had it not come with a stellar recommendation from a client of mine. I sat at the bar since I was dining alone, and felt very comfortable there and received professional and prompt service. I ordered the spinach salad and a marguerita pizza....the pizza was enough for two and so good that I took the left-overs back to my hotel fridge (something I ordinarly do not do). Definitely worth a try if you're in the area - the ambiance is good for dining with friends or couples, or for a business meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel26x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    119
    32
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Where's the waiter?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Nice environment, interesting menu, good wine choice. Food quality is ok, not very special. Prices are reasonable but why does it take so long to get some drinks and why you always need to search for your waiter?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler190511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great dining experience! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Love the “outdoor” feeling indoor. Great ambience during dinner. Servers were very attentive. I had a few tempura prawns for appetizer, just OK as a bit salty to for me. My main of medium rare 6 oz tenderloin with black truffle butter sauce was made perfectly to my liking. I liked the sides of mashed potato and veggies. I couldn’t resist having dessert after seeing Banana’s Foster on the menu and I was glad I ordered it (although I couldn't finish it!) as it was delish! Will definitely go back to this restaurant the next time I’m in Calgary!

Helpful?
Thank Jennelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad ..... but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Overall this restaurant is OK. But we would never go back on a Saturday night. Parking is a nightmare, lineups out the door, service is slow as they are too busy. The food was good with the exception of the salamy was off vey off and the lamb meat balls were no good either. All the other food was very good. They did offer us a food alternative and give us a $10 credit which we appreciated. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We may give this place another try at lunch time.

Helpful?
Thank Herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
438 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellent meals in a historic environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Murrieta's is located in an old sandstone building in downtown Calgary. It is a large restaurant with a number of different rooms including a lounge area. I've eaten here numerous times for lunch with business colleagues and have found the service to be excellent as well as the food. The Cobb salad is one of my favorite dishes. If going for lunch, make a reservation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YYC_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murrieta's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Murrieta's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing