We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gritty steamed clams”
Review of Dobson's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dobson's
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Gritty steamed clams”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a company function here and the servers handled our large group quite well. At about 9 pm the music was cranked and we could no longer chat with each other since it was so loud. I ordered the steamed clams and nearly broke a tooth hitting small pebbles... Not just one, but several. Perhaps I've lucked out in the past, but I've never encountered that before. The drinks were mixed well and we had a good time overall.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is what a gastropub should be like!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have no idea why Dobson's Restaurant & Bar isn't jam packed all day, every day. This wonderful place right on Macleod Trail serves quality food, made from scratch using locally sourced, sustainable ingredients. My wife and I dropped by for lunch and were thoroughly impressed.We shared the charcuterie and the steak bites, appetizers that were flavourful and more than enough for a quick lunch. The service was friendly and prompt. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matm0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent food. Keg and Cactus Club losing customer service. This is right beside keg. Food local, hormone free. They can deal with any food sensitivities. O & the service and food are both great

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambkcnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My daughter had a little steak with her fat sandwich, and they explained to her that strip loin has a fatty side to it. Flatbread was below average and the beans in my Caesar tasted like you'd expect dirty dishwater to taste. The service was disgraceful!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal Group Setting”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a great spot for a larger group to meet. They were very good at setting up a location for us to meet that provided privacy for the group to talk with no noise or interruptions from other patrons!
I was impressed with the meal and the pricing is very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobson's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing