We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner experience”
Review of Izumi Sushi

Izumi Sushi
Ranked #2,494 of 3,607 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Southwest Calgary
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southwest Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great dinner experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We used a Groupon coupon to dine here - our first and it won't be our last. The atmosphere is relaxing but it was a busy Tuesday evening (maybe other Groupon coupons?) They have a very extensive menu but the staff was helpful in explaining things. We each had different Rice Bowls which came with salads and we shared a sushi platter. This proved to be too much but worked out great as a left-over appetizer for the next evening.

Good hearty Japanese food with a reasonable cost. We did notice several other sushi platters which looked tempting and will keep in mind for next time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb food!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went as a large group and enjoyed the food so much we went back a second time during our week long visit in Calgary. Presentation was creative and food was fabulous! Make sure you have an appetite because it's worth it! We'll be back for more next time we're in the city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sktraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't order too much”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Got there a bit before closing, but they were very friendly and accommodating. I ordered way too much, but it tasted so good. I'll definately will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkosior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Takoyaki Ever”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I am craving for Takoyaki almost everyweek. We have tried some in other Japanese Restaurants but this one really stole my heart.
We're always placing a pick-up order just for Takoyakis and I would say that the one they have is one of the best I've tried not only in Calgary but even in B.C. as well,

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good enough to go again”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Izumi is in the former location of, and has the phone number of Tokyo Garden. The new owners also have a restaurant in Okotoks. The decor is a little tired, but amusing. The menu is huge, but seemed a bit redundant to me. The large rolls are about triple the size of regular ones and just too huge to eat in any graceful wall, especially if they have a sauce on them. Overall good enough and close enough to home to try again sometime.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izumi Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Izumi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing