We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service- loud environment”
Review of Ox and Angela

Ox and Angela
Ranked #127 of 3,599 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service- loud environment”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I went here for supper on a Thursday night. Staff were extremely attentive and the food was great with large tapas portions to share. It was a very busy night (need reservations) and we say side by side at a small table and were yelling to hear one another. Great if you like a busy, lively environment, but if you are looking for somewhere for conversation or taking elderly people, probably not the best choice!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLB122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    96
    30
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a delightful eating and drinking experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I would give this Five stars (just to be clear) but I'm being stingy because they were stingy with their bread and some of the portions (while I understand they were meant to be shared) were just a little shy of well-sized.
We shared several vegetarian items and all agreed - the Asparagus was the greatest. The combination of flavors and cooked to perfection made this an ultimate delight. The broccoli was good but the cream sauce was a little chunky which seemed odd. The bread is marvelous (but can't we have a little more?) and the cheese (manchego!) was divine. We ordered an array of cocktails and all were well-made and tasty.
We also appreciated the choice of still or bubbled water - a nice treat.
Also, the service was excellent and with a big ol' smile. Our waitress was so friendly and apologized directly for forgetting my partner's second beer (I always find it to be a sign of poor service when wait staff try and pass it off as not their fault!). We had at least four people tending to us throughout the evening and rather than feeling scattered, it felt like we were very well looked after.
Also, do yourself a favor and save room for dessert. The Almond Cake and the Dark Chocolate Cake were both in-cred-i-ble!
So, four, pushing five stars, and we will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MTmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Ox and Angela when in Calgary for one night before heading on to Banff. We didn't feel like going to one of the numerous steakhouses and were looking for something different. Ox and Angela did not disappoint. Our rose sangria was beautifully presented with summer flowers and ice, and all the tapas plates we tried were amazing. Our only difficulty was selecting which ones to order - we could only manage 4 plus bread between us, and we wanted to try everything on the menu.

Some may find the service a little slow but for us it was perfect - well paced, and the plates were brought out gradually rather than all at once, which alleviated the "no room on the table" crisis that sometimes comes at tapas restaurants.

Overall, we were very happy diners and would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaineyLou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“DELECTABLE TAPAS LUNCH !”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went to Ox and Angela for the first time for lunch. What a great restaurant. We ordered the Tapas special and it was a wonderful mini feast. The atmosphere and service were just awesome, cool patio too. I really like this style of eating, just a few bites of many different dishes . Having said that, make no mistake you leave stuffed. Great wine list as well. I will be returning to this restaurant very soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madisoniann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful feast”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We ate here several times (and I have reviewed it in the past) but this time we went for the "Spanish Table" for two along with a Sangria Rojo each. There are eleven tapas plates served, often two or three plates at a time. It was as if each serving kept getting better ending with Hangar Steak with piperade, patatas braves and local kale salad with anchovy dressing. It was like dying and going to heaven. Its pricey at $45 but actually better than ordering eleven tapas alone (so its a great deal). We did order dessert and coffee and that pushed us into the "we are stuffed" mode. A good walk helped after.

We have never been disappointed and this meal was truly memorable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox and Angela also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Ox and Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing