We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty & fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ox and Angela

Ox and Angela
Reserve with OpenTable
Ox and Angela is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 3,514 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tasty & fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Tasty tapas, great interior and wonderful atmosphere. I loved the Guadalupe at the bar among all liquer bottles. The staff is knowledgable, attentive & pleasant.
Not the best place if you wanna have a close conversation as the cacophony of other guests' talk is distracting. But great for food, drinks, people watching, dates and good times.

Thanks for standing out in this otherwise bleak town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivanafranovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    94
    29
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tapas for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great restaurant for any event. Fantastic tapas, wonderful wine list, superb service and all so reasonably priced you almost forget you are in Calgary.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorthTrying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High Quality food prepared well leaving you very satisfied!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff at Ox and Angela will make your experience very comfortable. Friendly and welcoming, speaking informed of all the menus and being very helpfull. The food is of the highest quality with a vast selection, fresh and deliciously prepared to suit any palet. The ambiance is charming, intimate and trendy. The prices are very comparable for the quality, this is a dining experience not just a meal. For couples, girls or small groups. Have the Wagyu Sirloin.....best steak you will ever eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryHolidaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Three of us arrived for an early lunch today without securing a reservation but were luckily to be able to grab the last table in what turned out to be a busy spot.

We ordered 6 dishes for sharing; asparagus, mushrooms on toast, boccadillo, fritters, chorizo, and the lamb meatballs. Everything came out sporadically and quickly. I wasn't able to choose a favourite as everything was fresh and flavourful and perfect for sharing. I found the service outstanding which I find to be rare in Calgary.

The restaurant itself felt cozy, inviting, with a rustic flare to it. I really enjoyed myself and am looking forward to experiencing dinner there soon! This place really stands out for me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hnphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My friend and I were excited to try our Ox and Angela, a new restaurant on 17th, with good reviews. Unfortunately what should of been a good lunch experience was not because of our server. Throughout our stay her service could have been described at the very least as disinterested, and at worst downright rude. As an example, looking for advice while reviewing the extensive wine list, my friend admitted he was not a wine connoisseur but liked Malbec's - but instead of offering suggestions of what he might enjoy (you'd think this would be a selling point?) - she stormed off saying 'she'd bring something'. The tapas dish we ordered was reasonable for taste but overpriced. Finally when it came to paying our bill, our server inexplicably left us $13 in coins as change. Needless to say, we will not be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank restless1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox and Angela also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Ox and Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing