We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, Quaint and totally Unique!”
Review of Ox and Angela

Ox and Angela
Reserve with OpenTable
Ox and Angela is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 3,537 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic, Quaint and totally Unique!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I'd been dying to try Ox and Angela for quite some time - maybe I just liked the name - but the quaint, white, house-like building and promise of Spanish tapas-style food always intrigued me. I went with a friend for lunch around 2pm on a weekday. Surprisingly (for downtown Calgary), they were open, and surprisingly again, there were several other diners inside. I've heard a few complaints about the decor, calling the plastic chairs cheap and cheesy, but to honest I found them part of the appeal. The whole place is very quaint and has something beautiful about it - the decor features bold blacks, reds and whites against a rustic backdrop - it looks almost thrown together, but in a very methodical and organized way.

The food was truly fantastic - unique and different - but fantastic. We ordered many small dishes, to try everything, and the style of service is to bring the items to the table as they are ready, which I love! We started with the Cheese dish - an aged manchego with pomegranate molasses - what a combination! Really beautiful. We also ordered the Pan Con Tomatate - grilled sourdoug with fresh tomato, garlic and extra virgin olive oil. It was a very simple dish, but simplicity is wonderful when done right, and it was certainly done right. We also had an order of the chorizo, cooked in sherry with tomato and garlic. The main dish was a plate of scallops, with fresh peas, mint, cherry tomato and crispy serrano ham. It was a very unique combination of items that worked magic when put together.

I also fell in love with the wine list. It featured a very unique range of Spanish wines, including a lovely selection of Spanish sparklings. The cocktail list was inspired and followed the theme of the restaurant - I had the Rio Fogo, made with Cachaca, passionfruit and fresh chili over crushed ice.

My only complaint was the service - it was chilly and lacked warmth and passion for the fabulous offerings being places on the table. It could be a real gem of a restaurant if the staff
were hospitable and took time to describe the menu with some degree of excitement.

The best part about Ox and Angela is that it knows what it is! While some restaurants suffer from an identity crisis and try to be all things to all people, Ox and Angela stays true to the central theme. Everything on the menu, from wine to cocktails, to tapas to entrees, compliments each other.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kristykoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    95
    29
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“S. American / Spanish Tapa's Galore”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is owned by the same company that runs Una Pizza, so the expectations were quite high and they definitely did not disappoint. The variety of Tapa's is plenty, and for 4 people (2 guys and 2 girls) we went with the following dishes. Overall, the dishes are a bit on the salty side (which is on par for Una Pizza as well) but that's probably because they have an extensive cocktails/wine and beer list which pairs quite well with the food.

1. Scallops ($21) - delicious, big and tasty (comes with 3 of them)
2. Paella Mixta ($29) - Lots of seafood in this one, kind of an odd combo with the chicken but nonetheless a tasty mixture
3. Market Paella (Market) - Delicious meats (mainly chorizo) served up over rice
4. Mushrooms on Toast ($13) - this is a dead giveaway with the truffles, definitely one of the favourites at the table
5. Kale ($6) - found this one a little bit on the salty side - we didn't finish because it was a little too salty and lemony
6. Asparagus ($13) - this was amazing as well, another one of the favourites but I think anything with Truffle will become a favourite.
7. Chorizo ($11) - this was filed with flavourful meat that will definitely need to be eaten with the accompanying toast to get a full effect - the toast on this one was a bit on the burnt side but it still tasted good together
8. Lamb Meatballs ($13) - surprisingly not that gamey tasting. Almost tasted like beef with a subtle hint of gameyness to it - sauce with it was really good

Would highly recommend the Sangria - that was a tasty drink to wash everything down.

Overall, this is a solid 4 restaurant. The ambiance was nice inside with decor reflecting a trendy modern theme. The Service was also very good, all of the waitresses, bartenders and hostesses were top notch being very knowledgeable and quick - very much appreciated when we had to rush some of the food out to make a concert.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank biomase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ox & Angela is my new favourite place!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've been here several times recently and it is always spectacular. The service is excellent, the wine list is good, the atmosphere is great. We love the small plate concept. I actually dream about the mushrooms on toast. They make it with truffle oil and it is so rich. I also love the cod fritters, the asparagus with a poached egg, and the churros for dessert. You cannot go wrong here! They are also very accommodating if you have any allergies, which we really appreciate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small/Share plates in an intimate setting”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ox and Angela is a Tapas Bar separated into a restaurant side and bar side. They offer share/small plates of food. Prices range from $4 (breads, single cheese, etc) to $40 per plate (meats, larger plates, fancier ingredients, multiple cheeses and meat plates). It is a more relaxed up-scale dinning and good for a wide variety of crowds. (Not so much children, though, they are likely welcomed.) Its more of a business casual and fancier place than a ripped jeans and t-shirt place.

I tried the chefs table option for around $55/person, which seemed to be an excellent idea, as it came with roughly 9 plates and took the guess work out of ordering. Each person at my table had this, and we quickly became comfortable with each person transferring from the main plate to their individual plates, despite unfamiliarity with each other and some less than appropriate table manners...is double dipping okay?

The atmosphere was quite intimate, with low lighting and soft music. It is recommended that you reserve ahead of time, as the restaurant is on the smaller side.

Service was excellent, food was excellent. Location is on 17th Avenue, which is a major restaurant/nightlife type area.

The wine list is extensive, and the staff was easy going about serving some sample wines. The beer list is roughly 10 with some less common types on it. The cocktails are the designer type with a spanish flair, although you can get the regular highball types.

The meal was relaxed and took over 2 hours, so plan ahead for that. The menu changes frequently, with what is available and the chef wants to prepare.

I will return, as it was a great place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b_red_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great for late night option”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Its nice that Calgary has some later night options that are good. The portions are a bit small, but hey thats tapas. The scallops were done very well, which is always a good sign of a chef since they are so delicate. Funky atmosphere helps, with a decent wine selection.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orshatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox and Angela also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Ox and Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing