We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavourful food, great decor”
Review of Model Milk

Model Milk
Reserve with OpenTable
Model Milk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 3,580 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the old Victor/Victorias Space on 17th Avenue SW Calgary,308 17 Avenue Southwest, Calgary, AB T2G1P3(403) 265-7343 ‎ · modelmilk.ca
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Flavourful food, great decor”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This restaurant is likely one of the best in the city. Consistently recommended by Calgarians.

Great menu, appropriate portions (not too much, not too little) and well informed, attentive wait staff.

My only tip is to make sure the cooks ease up on the salt.

Bon Apetit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    83
    42
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Fair - not worth the price”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

No thanks. Food underwhelming and too salty. "Lack lustre" came to our minds when we finished dinner on Tuesday evening. Not worth the hefty bill presented at the end of the night as we were still hungry. There are better places worth checking out in this city.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tucker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average Food and Tight Tables”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I'm a definite foodie. and this place just didn't cut it for me. I was disappointed given all the hype it gets. We went with friends for their family-style dining on Sundays where they offer set menus (changing every week). The portions and quality of food were just OK. The ambience was great, and I love that the kitchen is open so that you can see the chefs preparing the food. The tables are VERY close together though, making it almost impossible to get in and out of your seat without asking the people behind you to move (and we are pretty small/average size people). With all the foodie options in Calgary starting to offer family style dining, we won't be back to this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scholarjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in Calgary in 15 years”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Really pleased with my first experience at model milk. We went with another couple, who are adventurous, so we decided to go tapas style and share everything. First of all-Cavatelli is something you only ever see on a menu in small towns in Southern Italy-a finger made pasta, which was cooked exactly like my Nonna would have made-with rapine, olive oil, nuts and parmesan-perfect. The scallops where expertly sautéed. The Calamari was a real surprise-tender and savoury, crunches of fried dough mixed in a pasta like presentation-everyone loved it. The only misstep was the fish tacos, which where undrseasoned, but the fish was presented whole (head-on) and cooked expertly. Wine was surprisingly affordable-we had a white (falanghina) and red (Rosso di Montalcino) that are not often found in Alberta. Awesome value at around 50$ a bottle. The dessert was also a pleasure-we went with apple pie and a braised cherry on flatbread dish. Service was OK, but not up to the standard of true fine dining. Loved it-will go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible Foodie-heaven Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went for dinner on a Thursday night and the restaurant, in the 17th ave district, was packed. It was so much fun to be able to actually watch the chef prepare the food from afar that next time we will request a seat at the bar overlooking the kitchen! Our server was so helpful, able to detect our style and the food we would most enjoy immediately, and actually seemed thrilled that we loved everything! We had cheesies as an appetizers, YUM! Our entrees were the burger with cheese curds, a bun that was so tasty we finished it and we don't routinely eat bread! The sauce on the burger was unbelievable. We also had the Sablefish entree. We had never tasted such creamy, tasty fish served in a pea purée', with mini vegetables. For dessert we had the Fat Kid's Cake, imagine cake, thick frosting, sautéed strawberries, and ice cream. Oh my! This all served after we had a Bourbon from the vast Bourbon list (at least a dozen choices from Four Roses to Pappy's 20 yr to Old Rip Van Winkle!). Oh yeah!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Apple051979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Model Milk also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Model Milk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing