We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So entranced first time, went back the next week”
Review of Model Milk

Model Milk
Reserve with OpenTable
Model Milk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 3,604 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the old Victor/Victorias Space on 17th Avenue SW Calgary,308 17 Avenue Southwest, Calgary, AB T2G1P3(403) 265-7343 ‎ · modelmilk.ca
calgary
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“So entranced first time, went back the next week”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

What a gloriously designed space and such a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere -- I went with friends for the Sunday supper and we were so taken with the presentation, taste and texture combinations, and the superb pork and beef that we booked a second Sunday and again, we were delighted by the inventive combinations of flavours and downright comfort of the food. Side dishes to accompany meat offerings are particularly striking -- collard greens with bits of veal cheek; grits...absolutely delicious.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank evamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    84
    42
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Model Milk is cool”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Go to model milk for a unique layout and environment (meant in a good way) and good food. The wine menu isn't great and if you get seated in some areas you cannot read the menus because of the funky typewritten font with the missing bits of ink to make it authentic to the theme of an old brick dairy building. The food, environment and service are all worth going to Model Milk. A great date outing or going with friends - it fits the bill.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jnez1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The best new restaurant in Calgary”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I've been a frequent customer at Model Milk in the couple of months that it has been open. It's become one of my favorite restaurants in the city. The room and the stye of food reminds me of nopa in San Francisco: high ceiling, open kitchen, friendly. You have a choice of tables on the main floor, bar-style seating or tables on the mezzanine overlooking the rest of the restaurant, or bar-style seating at the raised open kitchen.

The menu ranges from crispy rabbit with mustard ice cream to a hamburger - arguably the best hamburger in town, done medium-rare as it should be, messy and delicious. Everything is prepared with high-quality ingredients and attention to detail, one of the best kitchens in the city, and it's fun to watch them work. Service has been consistently excellent, they have a good wine selection.

Reservations are not accepted, so go early or late, or be prepared to wait on the weekends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best food in a long time”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I wasn't sure where my friend was bringing me for dinner - the name is so strange. But as soon as we walked in to Model Milk I was sold. The ambiance is busy, happy, and warm. Great service, and no miscommunication despite a few servers assisting (perhaps one was a manager). We shared the chantrelles, calamari, and the 'pig'. All were excellent. The food is clearly made with love. It was so tasty, fresh, and served in a timely fashion. I enjoyed the proximity to the other tables, it made the experience warmer. The absolute highlight was the panacotta (salted caramel), it was the best dessert I've had in a very long time. I also loved the presentation of the pot au creme. They told me the name comes from the fact that this location was a dairy in the 1930's under the same name. My new favourite in Calgary!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kajillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Model Milk also viewed

 

Been to Model Milk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing