We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay”

Los Chilitos Taco and Tequila House
Ranked #698 of 3,514 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mont royal
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place was just okay. The food was okay and the venue was just okay. I have no real complaints but it was not amazing or even very good. I do no crave their tacos. I won't be back unless someone really really wants to go there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebecca_p733337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, nice patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

For lunch on one sunny day, myself and 2 coworkers relaxed on Los Chilitos' patio. The patio is great, facing out on busy 17th Avenue so there is much to observe. All three of us ordered the Burrito Mexicano with chicken. The food was great, and we especially liked that the burrito comes with 2 different yummy sauces. Awesome guacamole too! I tend to brag about my homemade guacamole...but theirs was just as good :o)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emjai2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tacos are tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I and another couple went to Los Chilitos recently for dinner. My husband had called in advance to ensure they had gluten free options. Two of us ordered a selection of tacos, which were very nicely prepared with different seasonings for each meat. One of the options was vegetarian, which was also tasty, though less seasoned. The additional sauces served with the meal added a bit of heat, and they were quite tasty and added more zip. My husband ordered the chill rellenos, which needed to be returned due to a side of tortilla chips that had been cooked in a fryer that gluten items had been cooked in. The kitchen staff were concerned about the problem, and made efforts to correct the situation, but could likely use more training in gluten free dining. We very much appreciated their attentiveness to the situation once we made them aware of it, however. The restaurant itself is small, so expect it to be noisy when tables are full inside. A few rough edges, but a pleasant meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Darn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Darn the fish was sold out so my server recommended the pork and pineapple tacos. Very tasty with a nice warm salsa to accompany them. Stopped in for a quick bite and to do some paper work at lunch time. Great tacos and will go back soon to try the fish. All that's missing is a patio and a beach view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Most of us have been to mexico. Its hard to find a good mexican restaurant. I always forget about this little restaurant on 17th. We went back again yesterday and again, it was amazing. The Enmoladas are simply delicious. As are many other dishes on the menu! They also make the best margaritas in the city! Like the ones made in the small mexican restaurants in mexico. Great service always. Nice ambiance, and for 60$. we had two large entrees and 2 double margaritas! Good value. The patio is great in the summer, and they have an excellent sunday brunch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Chilitos Taco and Tequila House also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Los Chilitos Taco and Tequila House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing