We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Wild Rose Brewery Taproom
Ranked #121 of 3,552 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Our Taproom is housed in AF 23, part of Currie barracks, Calgary’s military base established in 1934. We suspect the building was used for top-secret experiments to determine the effects of beer and delicious food on soldiers. Voted Calgary’s favourite brew pub 7 years running, this is where the magic is crafted. Come on down and sip the golden nectar next to the copper kettles it was brewed in.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

One of Calgary's hidden little treasures. The staff are very friendly, the food is far above most pub type food and their custom in house made beer is always awesome. Love this place and will keep coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dulongc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    32
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beer + Plane Hanger”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This pub has a lot going for it - the atmosphere, the beer (that is brewed here), the food and did i mention is in a plane hanger.

When visting Calgary it's a must see. Order the Velvet Fog and you won't want to leave.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real beer and unique casual setting”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of the better or if not best craft beer brewers in Calgary. Their seasonal imperial IPA was excellent and their regular IPA and Cherry Porter are great too. Like all good craft beers to get the most from them they should be drunk fresh from the tap. Food is also very good.

The place has a nice relax unpretentious feel, in contrast to some of the up market beer bars downtown Calgary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding brewery tour from Anthony”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A group of us bid on a tour of the Wildrose Brewery at a charitable auction. We booked our tour, and on Saturday, January 12, sixteen of us showed up for our tour. A reserved table had already been set, and the friendly waiter immediately offered us a half pint of our choice as part of the tour. I think that we tried all of the half dozen or so varieties that were on tap, and there was a choice for all beer drinkers, from the mild, lightly fruit flavoured Wrasberry ale, to the unfiltered Velvet Fog (my favourite, and their most popular)' to the incredibly good seasonal porter.

Our tour was excellent. The group of us have known each other for over 20 years, and we can be a little.......overwhelming at times. Our tour guide, Anthony was friendly and accommodating, knowledgeable about all aspects of the business, and kept the tour fun and informative. Our group ranged from geeky process engineers and chemistry majors who wanted to know detailed information about the process to a few twenty something's who were more interested in the business and marketing aspects. Anthony kept us all entertained for well over an hour....in fact I think we had the record for the longest tour !

After our tour, we ate. The menu is reasonably simple, but has enough choice so that the hungry 20 year olds and the health conscious parents could all have their choice of food. It was well prepared and Very good. The service was very friendly and efficient. After our meal and another post dinner beer, we sat and chatted at the table for over an hour. The waiter never made us feel like we needed to order more, but was readily available for those not driving that wanted another beer.

Overall a highly recommended experience

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveD282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of Calgary's gems”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

An open quasi-industrial decor is what greets you when you enter the tap room. Once you've had a minute to look around you'll see a mix of 4 tops and great tables (meant to be shared). Upon taking a seat (maybe beside your new best friends) you'll be offered a beer by great staff.

The menu is simple, but chalk full of homemade items. In addition, there are often daily specials to choose from. Worth noting is the lack of a deep fryer. This means no French fries or wings for you fatty food lovers.

The prices are very reasonable and the beer pints are imperial (British?) , not American. You can also take a brewery tour, so long as there's enough staff and they haven't lost their voices from earlier tours.

Families are welcome, although I haven't seen any babies on a Friday night.

The lights are always on and the music is never too loud to carry out a comfortable conversation.

Overall, a great place to go if your clubbing days are over but you still like a lively place to enjoy your favourite pint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitenshakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Rose Brewery Taproom also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Wild Rose Brewery Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing