We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worksop
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

Stayed on the 4th floor in a Kingsized room, (the receptionist gave me a choice of floors which was fabulous, i asked for the quietest which was floor4) Check in a pleasurable experience.

The room was spacious and very luxurious, cable TV and internet TV, although Internet TV wasnt that great @$9.95, very slow and hard to navigate around without a mouse. Although if you had a laptop you could get FREE wireless internet to your room. Microwave, Iron and ironing board also Coffee maker and large wardrobe space.

Bathroom (shower+bath) was really nice and clean, shampoo, conditioner, and body moisturiser supplied, along with hairdryer.

Complimentary breakfast, with varied choices, cereal, toast, waffles, bacon,eggs, soft drinks, coffee, etc,etc. Complimentary newspaper every morning at your door.

Free parking.

Has a ''traditional english pub'' opposite the Hotel which is nice to visit.

House keeping was efficient, they cleaned my room even when i left late around midday.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and this was probably one of the most pleasant i have stayed at, staff were very curteous, hotel was generally very quiet with no road noise outside.

  • Liked — Complimentary breakfast, and the general cleanliness of the hotel was fabulous, great staff.
  • Disliked — Internet TV was slow and hard to navigate.
  • Tips/Secrets — Has a pool and water slide
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tdawber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    133
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
152
65
14
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2006

I feel it is my duty to inform everyone that reads this site of the stay my family and I had at the Wingate Inn in Calgary on the 9th and 10th of November 2006.

We traveled 9 hours to attend a wedding in Okotoks Alberta on the 10th. We wanted to stay in Okotoks, but there was no hotel that we found that had a water slide for the children to enjoy. We then found the Wingate and thought it would be a good place to stay because it had a waterslide, and was also very close to the south end of Calgary.

After we checked in on the 9th, the children wanted to go water sliding, but we were informed by front desk that the waterslides were not in operation, and they would not be for our entire stay.

On Friday night (the 10th) I wanted to use the in room internet service because I do business online. I called the front desk to order it, and was told that the internet service was unavailable.

On the morning of the 11th I was woken early by some misguided individual yelling very loudly in the room above us.

Those things were bad enough to make the stay less then pleasurable, but the real problem came when I ripped the bottom of my foot on a very sharp object sticking out of the carpet when leaving the bathroom in our room. The carpet was somewhat frayed, and the piece of steal that lies under the carpet to hold it down was exposed with several very sharp little spikes sticking out of the carpet. I ripped the bottom of my foot opened and it was bleeding.

All of the above is true. I read the warning about fake reviews. This is nothing but the truth. I showed the steal object problem to the manager on duty and he said they will have to get maintenance to fix the problem.

After all this, I would not recommend the Wingate Inn to anyone, for any reason. It was terrible at best.

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — The piece of steal sticking out of the carpet in our room that ripped my foot open
  • Tips/Secrets — I strongly suggest you never stay at the Wingate Inn in Calgary
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr.Benes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2006

I travel to Calgary twice a month from Edmonton for business and have stayed and many hotels over the past 2 years. The Wingate is now my #1 choice.

Access off Macleod Trail is not that bad just do a map search.

I was in a standard King room. Very very clean, large, great lighting and stocked with a mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave.

The front desk staff are very helpful. When I asked if they knew of any restaurants that deliver to the hotel they handed me a bundle of menues. The hotel also offers an express check out.

The full business center is a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VacationNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2005

We just came back from a family holiday in Calgary. We were very happy with the Wingate Inn. The kids loved the pool and waterslide. The breakfast was good and the beds were very comfortable. Too bad it is so far south but it is new and very well kept. We used the discount at East Side Marios for dinner.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank ekb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Valley, B. C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2005

I stayed a night at the Wingate on March 5 2005...a very nice business hotel: room was a mini-suite with tv internet. Great kingsize bed. It is a bit awkward to get to off of MacLeod Trail. Shopping plaza with a large cinaplex across busy MacLeod Trail. Free continental breakfast with stay. Although it is a business hotel...it has a indoor water slide and the weekend I was there there were lots of families with kids...maybe during the week it is quieter. It is on the southern edge of the city, so not the most convenient for any downtown activities. Very nice property.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EastKootenayVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2004

We had the fortune of staying at the Wingate hotel for the August long weekend in 2004.
The staff were amazing and very helpful. The breakfast in the morning was great!
The room was very clean and my family and I have never stayed at a better place!!
Great job and thank you!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2004

roomy clean rooms but the big draw was the great continental breakfast with everything from cold cereal to hot fresh waffles in a pleasant lobby dining area! I'd stay again!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing