We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service from front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service from front desk staff”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my second time with Wyndham Hotel chain since I have been traveling all over the world (200,000+ miles in the air per year) for the last five years but this experience has exceeded my expectations with the super friendly service with the front desk staff; special thank you for Mairi and the ladies who took care of us at the dining room and front desk. Mairi has demonstrated a great skill in making the customers feel like they are at home; she ranks as one of the best front desk staff compared to other hotel staffs I have met all over the world. My best is a small boutique hotel in Egham, UK which has room charges three to four times what I encountered at the Wingate so I expected the proportionate level of service. Good job Wingate!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I appreciate the great feedback that you have provided on our front desk and dining room teams- I agree that they are great service ambassadors for the industry and am very glad to have them on my team. I will make sure to pass these along to everyone and look forward to your next trip to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    141
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
157
69
14
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great hotel and very friendly staff and good service. The pool and slide was a hit with my grand daughter. The breakfast and breakfast area is great as well. The only thing is how to get to Wingate from McLeod Trail South. If my wife had not been here before I would have drove around for sometime finding my way into the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the bottom floors as we could here the people walking on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt.mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I apologize for your challenges in getting to our property, however, it is great to see that your stay was a success with your family once you arrived. We are working on some more directional signage to our hotel to aid in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The same quality rooms and service. Friendly staff and good value in the location I need.The only problems are the ongoing internet access limitation and the tv that shuts off every few hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
2 Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our TV and Internet issues- we have just converted to a new internet system and are still working diligently on the TV side of things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I found this hotel to be more than worth the room price. Excellent staff and service. Clean and spacious rooms. New gym facility and pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
3 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write about our hotel. It is comments such as yours that help us to reaffirm our efforts to providing an excellent product and even more exceptional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our second family-based weekend at the Wingate. Grandma and Grandpa invite the children and grandchildren. There's a "pyjama party" and "picnic". (The room had a coffee maker, fridge and microwave.)

The highlight, however, is the perfect pool and waterslide. Grandchildren ages 3 and 6 go nuts enjoying the facility. We keep them busy - and, eventually exhausted, they rest, and so do the grown-ups.

The buffet breakfast (with do-it-yourself waffles - a kid favorite) is very well done and greatly enjoyed. Even the coffee is above average.

The facility, the staff, our greeting (and mini guest bag as returning customers) were all top notch.

We had a spacious room with easy access to the pool area, too. Staff went out of their way to provide a a couple of hours more for our enjoyment by granting a late checkout.

The three year old was so motivated to stay that he got himslef into the elevator and back to the room as we were departing from the lobby!

We may well make this special weekend activity a family tradition several times a year.

Thank you for the great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N Ms G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review- I am glad that we can provide a second home away from home for you and your family to enjoy!! I look forward to ensuring you and your family always have a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing