We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I recently stayed here and the staff went above & beyond my expectations. I have never stayed at a property where so many of the staff were so helpful. The bar staff helped me make a gift for a friend. The rooms were clean & decent with comfortable bedding. I would recommend this property to everyone!

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks Bill for your amazingly kind words. I am very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again your next time in Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    141
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
157
69
14
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redcliff, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My first stay at the Wingate and will not be my last I will keep coming back because of the people and the location. I was welcomed and treated very well by everyone I came in contact with and appreciate that they take such care to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I like the extra touch of the gift bag, upon entering, containing bottled water, M&M, chips and a welcome note. The continental breakfast was excellent. The person who was in charge of keeping everything hot, fresh and tidy was outstanding. Staying at this location enables me to find good restaurants easily - even on snowy winter evenings - and its location makes it easy to access other parts of Calgary easily. The bed was so comfortable I didn’t want to go back to your own bed. I will continue to stay here for all my trips in 2013 PS LRT right across the street which is great for getting to were I want to go and not have to drive.

Room Tip: we had 2 rooms and they were both GREAT so I guess all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you Ken for such a generous review. I am very pleased we were able to create such a great experience for your and your guests!

Thank you for being a member of the Wyndham Rewards program, I hope you keep up in mind on your next trip to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

this place was in excellent shape and cleanliness, people were accommodating and breakfast was just right, easy to get to any where in Calgary...pool and slide area were very clean..we are Wyndham owners and are continually impressed with their properties, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brdunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks so much brdunbar for your friendly words. It is always a pleasure to have guests who are part of the Wyndham Vacation Club stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the moment you enter the lobby you are made to feel at home. We have stayed here 3 times so far and recommend it to all. I like the extra touch of the gift bag, upon entering,containing bottled water, M&M's, bag of chips and a welcome note. This past stay we made the request to have our coffee switched out for hot chocolate; when we got to the hotel room the request had already been fulfilled at no extra cost. Speaking of room, we stayed in a King Jacuzzi suit. The living room was very spacious with microwave, fridge, counter, cupboards and sink in one corner, then a table for four, a large office desk, queen hide-a-bed, lounge chair coffee table and flat screen tv. All this and plenty of room to walk around. Behind frosted glass doors is an amazingly comfy king sized bed in a spacious separate bedroom. Off to the side was the gigantic bath/shower/jacuzzi room. I loved the walk-in shower with room for two and a seat to relax on. The jacuzzi was DEEP and had plenty of room for two to enjoy themselves. The controls and the jets a bit weak but if you want a great deep soak, I recommend get in and turn it on! Breakfast was varied, fresh and scrumptious. The choice of Granny Smith and Red Delicious apples was not the best, as they are dry but the rest of the choices of fruit were good. Checkout was speedy, and thanks to using our Wyndham points, also free! You gotta stay here! I'll be back!

Room Tip: I've stayed on 1st floor and both ends of 4th floor. I like the fourth more for quietness, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much Robert for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased you had such a great experience with us and thank you for being a member of the Wyndham Rewards program.

A note has been added to your profile to ensure we have hot chocolate in your room when you arrive.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Negatives: I heard every footstep from the occupants in the room above, not to mention every toot they made when using the toilet. Found long 6 to 8 inch hairs in my pillow case. I have a crew cut…made me wonder about the rest of the bed. Did housekeeping think the bed linens looked “clean enough” after the last occupant? Breakfast was tasteless (Boiled ham? Really?). To be fair, the McDonald’s down the street was worse. Attention manager: delete the dreadful ham/sausage and instead invest in FRESH danish, muffins, cereal, etc. Less water in the coffee would be better, and please refill the OJ dispenser more than once a week. Room fridge was no match for the room heater. It’s safer to keep your food on the outside window ledge!
Positives: The room otherwise seemed clean and comfortable. After about 9:00 PM when people settled, the noise level dropped significantly. Security quickly quieted the wild kids running in the echoing hallway. The room otherwise seemed clean. Parking is good. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor! Otherwise, ear plurs are suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 808Kauai_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review 808Kauai_Steve. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to our regular standards.

Thank you for providing us with feedback to help us improve our offerings. I have passed on your comments to our executive housekeeper as well as our breakfast bar manager and a note has been added to your profile to always be on the fourth floor to aleviate any noise sensitivities.

Have a very safe and merry Christmas season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#28 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#41 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#23 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing