We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bassano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the moment you enter the lobby you are made to feel at home. We have stayed here 3 times so far and recommend it to all. I like the extra touch of the gift bag, upon entering,containing bottled water, M&M's, bag of chips and a welcome note. This past stay we made the request to have our coffee switched out for hot chocolate; when we got to the hotel room the request had already been fulfilled at no extra cost. Speaking of room, we stayed in a King Jacuzzi suit. The living room was very spacious with microwave, fridge, counter, cupboards and sink in one corner, then a table for four, a large office desk, queen hide-a-bed, lounge chair coffee table and flat screen tv. All this and plenty of room to walk around. Behind frosted glass doors is an amazingly comfy king sized bed in a spacious separate bedroom. Off to the side was the gigantic bath/shower/jacuzzi room. I loved the walk-in shower with room for two and a seat to relax on. The jacuzzi was DEEP and had plenty of room for two to enjoy themselves. The controls and the jets a bit weak but if you want a great deep soak, I recommend get in and turn it on! Breakfast was varied, fresh and scrumptious. The choice of Granny Smith and Red Delicious apples was not the best, as they are dry but the rest of the choices of fruit were good. Checkout was speedy, and thanks to using our Wyndham points, also free! You gotta stay here! I'll be back!

Room Tip: I've stayed on 1st floor and both ends of 4th floor. I like the fourth more for quietness, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much Robert for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased you had such a great experience with us and thank you for being a member of the Wyndham Rewards program.

A note has been added to your profile to ensure we have hot chocolate in your room when you arrive.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    141
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
159
69
14
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Negatives: I heard every footstep from the occupants in the room above, not to mention every toot they made when using the toilet. Found long 6 to 8 inch hairs in my pillow case. I have a crew cut…made me wonder about the rest of the bed. Did housekeeping think the bed linens looked “clean enough” after the last occupant? Breakfast was tasteless (Boiled ham? Really?). To be fair, the McDonald’s down the street was worse. Attention manager: delete the dreadful ham/sausage and instead invest in FRESH danish, muffins, cereal, etc. Less water in the coffee would be better, and please refill the OJ dispenser more than once a week. Room fridge was no match for the room heater. It’s safer to keep your food on the outside window ledge!
Positives: The room otherwise seemed clean and comfortable. After about 9:00 PM when people settled, the noise level dropped significantly. Security quickly quieted the wild kids running in the echoing hallway. The room otherwise seemed clean. Parking is good. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor! Otherwise, ear plurs are suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 808Kauai_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review 808Kauai_Steve. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to our regular standards.

Thank you for providing us with feedback to help us improve our offerings. I have passed on your comments to our executive housekeeper as well as our breakfast bar manager and a note has been added to your profile to always be on the fourth floor to aleviate any noise sensitivities.

Have a very safe and merry Christmas season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rooms were clean, staff was very friendly and they allowed pets, offering them treats at the counter. The continental breakfast was just ok, I was expecting more of a variety. There were no muffins or yogurt and they only offered waxy apples for fruit. What they lack in breakfast selection they made up for in the friendly staff and clean rooms. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickseny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you will be back!

I welcome any feedback you may have about our breakfast variety. While we feel we have quite an array of products, we are always open to suggestions. You can call me at 403-514-0099 if you wish to pass on your ideas.

Have a safe Christmas season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
499 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing