We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Reserve with OpenTable
Tamarind is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 3,537 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Description: 403-731-0001
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As I live a two minute walk from this restaurant, it has easily become one of our regular dinner favourites. The food is delicious. The service can be a bit slow however the restaurant has great decor and the dishes are presented beautifully. I have and will continue to recommend Tamarind to my friends and family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eisseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible food”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Food was not fresh and was smelling bad. service was poor...we had to wait for 45 mins to get the food even though resturant was not busy...will never recoomed this resturant...being indian i can tell you there are far better authetic indian -resturant than this in calgary...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian Cuisine!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited Tamarind for our anniversary dinner and were so pleased we had. The ambience, the service and especially the food were all top notch. We have visited many Indian restaurants in the Calgary area and this is by far the best. From our server, Nabil, right up to the owner, Johnny, we received first class treatment. Be sure not to miss the samosas! We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camrie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place for a date”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the food. The whole evening was a real treat. Staff friendly.
Perfect place for Date night. The restaurant itself is very modern with a
really great ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was a deliciously amazing experience !!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first time at tamarind. I was really blown away by the decor n ambience. It was pleasant and welcoming. As we we got seated our waitress was this young, talented and passionate girl with a great knowledge of the menu. She apart from being non India had a good knowledge of the menu. All In all a gr8 place for Indian food , with gr8 decor and excellent service ( if u get served by Tatiana ) lol. Cheers

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing