We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Fusion Cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Reserve with OpenTable
Tamarind is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 3,497 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Description: 403-731-0001
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Indian Fusion Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is a bit hard to find as is in a newer strip mall in Panatella area,NF Calgary , easy to access from Stoney trail,take 14 st NW exit. menu has nice selection ,the shrimp and the eggplant dishes are very good, chicken chetinad done with adifferent twist , Most of the items are North Indian flavour. Service is good , place could be cleaner like the floors. The owner is on site and wihes to please.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Premkumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    46
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We eat here way too often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tamarind is, really, the best indian food in Calgary.

The space is comfortable and well decorated. The staff are attentive. It's a family run business, so you get to know everyone after a short while. Is it wrong that I think they recognize my phone number when I call for pick up?

We moved into the area and had a few meals in the resuarant - then started bringing it home. We've been back to the restaurant a few times with family for dinners - including with our infant daughter (who loved her sampling of everything we ordered) and my mother-in-law (a curry novice before our meal together).

I love the Tandoori Tikka, and my wife gets the butter chicken done mild.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTrippingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Calgary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

What a great little place. The food was excellent with some very unique dishes.
Reasonably priced considering the quality was fantastic.
The only knock was the waiter told us to be out by 8. Kind of a weird thing to say when I'm spending $120 there.
Still, I would definately go back!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaetzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

From walking into the bright friendly restaurant we were not disappointed. The friendly staff the ambience and especially the delicious authentic food made our evening special. This restaurant is a MUST

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just want to let you know that we enjoyed a great service and awesome food at your restaurant.
We'll return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arif P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing