We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was fun once!”

Canada's Sports Hall of Fame
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.57*
and up
Canada's Sports Hall of Fame Admission
Ranked #33 of 298 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Canada's Sports Hall of Fame located at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary is open from 10AM-5PM Wednesday-Sunday, all holiday Mondays and seven days a week during July and August! Come enjoy our 40,000 square foot international award-winning facility. We have 12 galleries and over 50 hands on interactive exhibits including shadow boxing with Lennox Lewis, wheelchair racing against Chantal Petitclerc, two multisport simulators and more. Fun for the whole family!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Was fun once!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place was great to see once and I am glad i did it with my school but wouldn't come to calgary for it

Helpful?
Thank Lauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A new venue!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is absolutely huge. One does not realize this looking at it from the #1 Highway going by. It's got all the newest updated equipment and sports facilities and offices you can imagine. One of the employees gave us a grand tour of the place and it was fescinating.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Museum!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a great place! There is lots to see, and some fun interactive exhibits. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Calgary.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1234j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Good Facility”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having been a member of the WJC volunteer committee the main area of the Hal of Fame can easily accommodate large groups of people for corporate events, then the break away areas can accommodate smaller groups in many different areas of the facility.

If you wanted to have a banquet, there is room in the main area and if your a tourist there is plenty to see in the main hall. The games are interactive for the kids and adult alike where you can test out your own skills and it is quite interesting looking at the various Olympic and non Olympic displays.

I do wish they would have made it a touch cheaper or at least made kids 6,7,8 and under free so as to instil the Olympic spirit earlier in our younger generations although my 7 year old daughter finds the interactive exhibits great but then rapidly loses interest. If you are in Calgary during the London 2012 Olympics you may go down to the Riddell Family Theatre to experience it on the really big screen!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk_and_Jo-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, but not at full price”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Hall of Fame is a brand new, purpose built facility, and well worth a look. It has a great range of memorabilia, from actual Olympic medals to 120 year old ice skates to Kyle Shewfelt's gym shorts.

The exhibits and interactive media are great for adults and older children, but younger kiddies are likely to get bored and restless very quickly.

My only issue was with the ticket price. The usual cost is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors and $8 for kids. That's pretty steep, as you're unlikely to be there for more than an hour or so. We used a 2 for 1 voucher. It's worth $6, but not $12!

The exhibit area is on several tiered levels, but these are connected by ramps as well as by stairs, so fully accessible for weelchair users.

There is some food available for purchase on the ground floor, but only from vending machines. All of which were out of order when we visited.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sielah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada's Sports Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to Canada's Sports Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing