We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Restaurant! It's the best!”

WURST Uberkitchen. Wunderbar
Ranked #224 of 3,537 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Combine great food, 20 hand-selected beers and the old world camaraderie of Munich's famous beer halls and you get WURST Überkitchen. WunderbarWhether it's a casual drink and a meal in the lounge or a few beers and shared apps at our always-boisterous communal benches. WURST is always best
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant! It's the best!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wurst has to be the most under-rated restaurant in Calgary. After three visits, with fabulous food and serving each time, I can confidently say that this is the norm at this restaurant. Jennifer was our waitress this evening, and she ranks with the best (and I've dined in a few restaurants!). Her knowledge of the menu and the wines was extensive and professionally offered. Everyone I have encountered at Wurst seems to be exceptionally well trained. The decor is dramatic and upscale yet comfortable. It has fantastic food, service and ambience. Expensive, yes, but not excessively so. And well worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    78
    30
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in the basement”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've had great expiriences here with food. hearty, delicious. Depending on how biz it is, it can be hard to track down a server. The basement isnt necessarily my thing, its a bit gloomy but It works for what they are doing. Great food. Upstairs looks very nice, have yet to try it out, but on the 2013 to do list.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank zostarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Cool Place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mix of classy but affordable restaurant upstairs with a German beer hall style downstairs. Love the beer. Food is good. Must be comfortable sharing tables with strangers... unless you make friends; then they won't be strangers anymore. Fun atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myles-Joelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, service, food. All very good.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I had brunch here on New Year's Day and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The decor and atmosphere in the place were excellent, although the spirit of the day was conducive to a good time of course. However, we were pleasantly welcomed and shown to our seats. The brunch menu was reasonably varied and we were blown away by our food. Very tasty, well presented and somewhat in keeping with the germanic theme. One minor criticism is that service was a little slow (but only a little). Overall: a superb experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary , Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“another Dissappointment”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well , nobody can say we didn't try. we went there again , even though the last time we tried it was a great dissappointment. But our Friends (who like german Food and Atmosphere ) insisted we give it another Shot.. Well , upon arrival we were told that since we where 25 minutes late ( due to Traffic Congestion ) and since we did not answer our Phone when they called home ( duh , we where on the way) they gave our Table away. Well , what a great Start.
Then we where offerd to sit on the Bar and wait for a Table (approx. 1-11/2 Hr ) , or we could go downstairs to the Beerhall. We considered that , checked it out and found that it was so noisy , you could nod have a conversation , unless with a Megaphone. No , thank you ? So we sat at the Bar , ordered a Drink (which we where told would be on the House , but the Bartender took the Money anyway) and perused thru the Menu. After 1/2 Hour we decided that the Keg was nearby and at least we would't be disappointed. Oh , I forgat. The Bierlist had nothing to do with a german Restaurant or Wirtschaft , the Löwenbräu I ordered came in an ice cold Class Mug and was placed on a Coaster from BigRock. The Menu was Pseudo German at its best. Whoever thinks of putting Speck wrapped Asparagus on a Menu gotta get his Head examined. Its either Bacon wrapped Asparagus or Spargel in Schinken gewickelt . Speck iss the fatty part only of Bacon and sounds downright gross. As of the rest of the Menu , well I was born and raised in Germany and trust me , german Fair is something diffrent alltogether. At that Point , the Keg sounded really good and we were not dissappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duslbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WURST Uberkitchen. Wunderbar also viewed

 

Been to WURST Uberkitchen. Wunderbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing