We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Classical Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra

Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra
Ranked #26 of 287 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Led by internationally renowned Music Director Roberto Minczuk, the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra has been a cornerstone of Calgary’s multi-faceted arts community since 1955 and is one of North America’s finest and most versatile livemusic ensembles. A repertoire that is extensive and broad in scope consistently attracts acclaimed guest artists and conductors. From classical giants to rock and roll hits and family favourites, the CPO offers an average of 65 concerts per Season designed to fit all musical tastes.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Classical Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

For more than three years now I have attended various classical presentations of Calgary's CPO. Their concerts are always very entertaining and help me to relax. I invariably feel very "uplifted" after attending a performance. I would recommend their concerts or shows to anyone who either lives in or is just visiting Calgary.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    22
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I brought my husband here for date night, what a great way to spend a Friday evening! Last night we heard Rush Hour The Music from 2001: A Space Odyssey, which was just simply amazing. We will be going back for sure. Suitable for all ages, great date night, family or group gathering. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SherrieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“2001 Space Odyssey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic evening at the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra. Their innovative "rush hour" concerts provide the audience with informative insights from the conductor and guest speakers, making the evening highly entertaining. There's even a special "tweet" section for those who want to share the experience on Twitter. Don't worry, if you are more traditional in your approach to concerts, the tweeting doesn't spoil the atmosphere of live classical music. The orchestra was extraordinary... a first class experience!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JJBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“World Class Performances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Having traveled, I have found my home town band one of the best. The conductors that this city attracts speaks volume of the talent that lives and plays here. I have never been disappointed in any performance, be it a full orchestra or be it some special performance with a guest group, like the Led Zeppelin performance. If only the businesses that use the fact we have this type of culture here to attract high level CEOs would only step forward and help sponsor the building to help with the desperate need of repairs.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Date night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I tried to have a new experience and made a right choice to have a date night here. It was an awesome evening. It's recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank Thanyawadee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing