We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left us lacking...”
Review of Stonehill Restaurant and Tavern - CLOSED

Stonehill Restaurant and Tavern
Price range: $23 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 96th Ave
Transit: Route 114 stops 1 block west of the location.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Left us lacking...”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Dined at the Stonehouse restaurant in September with a friend and my 4 year old. The place had a nice ambience to it, with a beautiful enclosed glass wine celar in the middle of the restaraunt. The hostess was friendly and showed us to our table but when it came to our waitress she seemed like she would like to be anywhere else but at her job. Service was neither friendly nor unfriendly, it was very slow and we were left for long periods of time with no drinks. It was not a busy time so not sure for the wait and lack of service, when the food finally did come it was only average, we both had pasta and it was quite bland and priced highly for the quality/quantity. Our waitress seemed friendly and happy when we did leave, instead of when we were there. I would likely not return to this place again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moscato-Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“A small community location -- but a nice big restaurant!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I dined here on a Friday night. We had seen the large restaurant building from many of our commutes along Beddington trail -- but had never made it down to the shopping area Stonehill is located in. From the outside it reminded me of a large pub type of restaurant -- but once inside we realized how nice it is.

I would say that Stonehill is a bit like an upscale Earls, or Joeys type of restaurant. They have comfortable booths and tables -- with a very nice wine 'cellar' - more like a tower - showcased in the middle of the restaurant.

The main floor of the building is the restaurant - upstairs is the tavern and on the balcony all around the second floor is a nice outdoor seating area. We ate in the restaurant -- but were encouraged to look around the upstairs and see what the entire facility had to offer. We would have eaten outside -- had the weather been a little warmer.

Our waitress was very helpful --- polite and friendly. Once she heard this was our first visit to Stonehill she was very helpful with menu suggestions, etc. For dinner we ordered the steak sandwich and the Stonehill burger. Both were good -- but not fabulous. While I could see they had tried to cook my steak med/rare -- it was very overdone on the edges -- so ended up being slightly tough. The Stonehill burger was again good -- but nothing special. We also had a nice glass of wine and a glass of Guiness to go with our food.

We will definitely come back. The ambiance and service were nice. I think next time we will either try appy's on the deck -- or come for a nice big prime rib dinner in the restaurant -- maybe both!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Biggest wine cellar ever!!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

This place sports a 2.5 storey wine room. Truly worth the visit to see that. But once inside you will be charmed by the menu. Very solid and diverse menu. Great place for drinks with friends o romantic dinner for two

Helpful?
2 Thank Mkilburn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprising find in a shopping center”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stonehill is a stand-alone restaurant in a large shopping center, but step inside and you are in a well-designed upscale restaurant without the upscale pricing or any pretentiousness. Loved the 2-story centerpiece: a glass-enclosed wine cellar! If you quiz your server about this most unique "furnishing," you might even get invited to ride its elevator! Our service was excellent and the food even more so. Beautifully furnished with dark rich woods.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JMJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great view, fresh food”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Our new favorite pub in Harvest Hills. Restaurant is warm and inviting with a modern decor. Food is fresh and portions are good. Prices are on the high end but we do think it's all worth the cost. Lamb burger is juicy and good sized. Burgers are cooked to order. Sorbet for dessert is lovely and under $4.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonehill Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing