We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This past weekend, I stayed at this hotel with 3 of my nieces - we had gathered for a weekend of spa treatments, a meal with other family members, bottles of wine and a birthday cake for one of us. All in all the hotel was perfect for our needs and the really nice part was we were not evicted for being quite noisy during the wee hours of Sunday morning - nothing obnoxious, but loads of giggles and tales of days gone by. Such fun. The location of the hotel was good because one of us came from Innisfai, ABl; another from Ranchlands; one from the Willow Park and myself from Standard, AB - kind of a central location.
We were able to check in very early which was good.
Room was lovely; beds comfy - the only wee thing I can think of - if there are 4 adults sharing one room, please make sure there are 4 coffee cups and enough coffee, tea etc available...
We would stay here again and I have recommended this hotel to friends already.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Lynn, thank you for taking the time to post your review and comments about your recent visit to the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites. I'm pleased you found our location central and easy to access from Northern and Southern Alberta. I will work with our housekeeping department to react to your comments about the extra coffee and cups when we have 4 adults in a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Above average mid price range hotel. Location on north side of airport makes this a preferred location until Barlow trail reopens. Rooms well insulated against outside noise but some air traffic is noticeable. Breakfast was very good with omelette bar and the other usually. Restaurant was surprisingly good but a bit of a nuisance that it was not open at lunch. I was there for three days so would have been nice if even a small lunch menu would have been available. Front desk seemed to have some procedural issues as check in and check out took much longer than necessary but it may have been new staff. Shuttle was very accommodating and willing to take you to local shopping centers as time permitted. Well appointed rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, good work desk and large tv. Two minor design flaws. Cabinet drawers not deep enough to allow any reasonable amount of clothes to be stored. You may be operating out of your suitcase if you are staying any amount of time. The other nuisance was that the tv could not be turned which meant that you could only watch tv from the bed. There was a very comfortable chair but the tv was at such a severe angle it was annoying to watch.

Overall well above average for this class of hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank luv2gogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Above average is a very nice compliment to give us - Thank you! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and review of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is the nicest best western I have ever stayed at! Loved the large room, comfy bed and elegant decor! I have absolutely no complaints. The free breakfast is great as well and the location is very convenient to both airport and highway 2.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed our large rooms, comfy beds and full hot breakfast. We look forward to your return stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Needed a room near the airport, this hotel fit the bill. Really, just minutes from the departures section of YYC. Employees were fantastic from check-in staff to servers at the restaurant lounge. Was surprised by the rooms, very well equipped and seemed relatively upscale. Room was immaculate. Beds had toppers and nice soft pillows. I slept well. Free wireless internet and free airport shuttle that seems to leave every half hour. Food service seems to be only during specific times of the day, but there are plenty of snacks available to hold you through, from microwavable goods to standard potato chips and candy bars. There seems to be a free breakfast included in the room rate and if you have to leave before the restaurant opens, they offer you a boxed snack to take with you. For $189 a night, the room was outstanding, and along with the free breakfast, free wi-fi and free shuttle to the airport turned it into a bargain. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomaz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

So nice to hear how much you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the service you recieved during your visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and comments about our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When I travel to Calgary, I'm usually passing through to get to the mountains or staying with friends. This time, I was playing host to some out-of-country visitors so took the opportunity to try this relatively new property.

It felt just like home from the minute we stepped in the door. The lobby is spacious and welcoming. The staff were friendly and courteous and had us relaxing in our room right away. It was just what we needed after commuting down the QEII from Edmonton.

We stayed in a Double Queen Room, which was plenty spacious for 3 adults. The decor is clean and modern. I like that all rooms have a mini fridge and microwave.

We were most impressed with the breakfast, which is complimentary for all guests. There is really something for everyone. Cold selections include assorted pastries, cereal, fruit salad and toast. Hot selections include sausage, oatmeal and waffles. My personal favorite was the omelette station where a staff member whipped up your own personal creation. For drinks, you could help yourself to an assortment of coffee, tea and juice. What a great start to the day!

I highly recommend staying here on your next visit to Calgary. They are minutes from the airport (not to worry as the sound-proofing is excellent and the hotel is not really in the flight path of the runway) and do have a complimentary airport shuttle. They are also in close proximity to Cross Iron Mills (for shoppers), Stoney Traili (for those heading to the mountains) and Deerfoot Trail (easy access to the rest of Calgary).

Room Tip: For something a little more luxurious or romantic, consider booking a Jacuzzi Room with King Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMTrvSpec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you taking the time to post your review and comments about your recent visit with your international guests. I am pleased to hear that the location, quality of our facility and services all met or exceeded your expectations. Our breakfast receives many comments about our made to order omlette station and is definitely a visitor favorite. I hope you won't wait until you have more international visitors before you come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed a couple of times now and will stay there again. The room is clean, the location near to the airport, shopping and to the Trans Canada highway if you want to visit Banff. One of the best parts of the inclusive breakfast is the omelet station. The cook with prepare your eggs with a great choice of fresh ingredients. They also have meats, potato, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt and the breads. For someone with diet restrictions, I didn't go away hungry. I gave it a rating of 4 simply because of the Front Desk staff. Each and every time we either checked in, walked by, checked out or made any inquiries (for both times that we stayed at this property this latest time we were there a week), there were no greetings with smiles attached. We even included our daughter in the little game we had going. The game was to see if we would attract a smile or a greeting of hello or good morning from the staff as we walked by. None. Not 1 smile in the whole 7 days that we were coming and going. Not an impression a Front Desk staff member should be instilling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harmonyyogacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for providing your feedback and a review of our recent stay at the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites. I must say that I am very disappointed in the impression our front dest team gave to you on your recent stay. Our training includes making eye contact at 10 feet and smiling or greeting the guest at 5 feet. It appears that we will need to revisit this training again! I am pleased that the balance of your visit was not impacted by our "not so warm welcome."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Chosen due to early morning flight but loved this hotel, gets all boxes ticked, and that taking into account it is an airport hotel so not in downtown Calgary. Huge free car park. Impressive large building, but yes is in an industrial area, not an ugly one, so no problem. At check-in the young male staffmember was lovely. Genuinely interested, helpful and efficient. All staff pleasant. We knew the hotel was very new but it is still in immaculate condition and room fitouts should set the benchmark. Has elevators and a Grill Restaurant and bar. Spacious air-conditioned room had good lighting, free wifi worked always, opulently furnished, spotlessly clean. Not a blemish anywhere. The extremely large and comfortable bed had beautiful linens and lounge furniture was comfortable and tasteful. The large bathroom had a vanity bench and lots of storage underneath. This hotel room fitout was intelligent and user/guest friendly. The wet bar had mini-frig, a microwave, coffee maker and china mugs. My husband who only notices what is missing in hotels usually, waxed lyrical about the TV. Brand new too and LG brand but huge and he said the colour and picture superb. So he could have watched baseball there forever. The Grill opened at 5 PM and menu choices varied and our meals were excellent as was service from attentive wait staff. Bar and tables full as was hotel. Some young families stayed at hotel same time as us so I think as suited to families as business travellers or couples. We took the free shuttle to airport at 5.30 AM next morning and had a wake up call on time and short trip to airport hassle free. Highly recommend the Freeport. We had a wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for a superb review and comments about practically every aspect of our hotel. I am so please to hear how much you enjoyed the quality of our facility and the service you received. It is wonderful to hear when we meet or exceed our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
#1 of 110 in Calgary
254 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites

Address: 86 Freeport Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 5J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#1 Family Hotel in Calgary
#2 Green Hotel in Calgary
#7 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $84 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn And Suites
Best Western Premier Freeport Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing