We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel - choice of many services in area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New hotel - choice of many services in area”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Booked weekend rate. Hotel is new and clean. Moxies and Dennys on site. Walmart and Tim Hortons in mall beside it. Easy to find. Off busy highways but great location to get anyway in south area of city. We had a show at Heritage Park and it was 6 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineseeker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello, thank you for a taking the time to let us know your comments. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Best regards

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    85
    32
    18
    8
See reviews for
77
36
5
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After consider City Centre options this was the closest lodging to where temporary work location was going to be. Fairly direct drive from Calgary Airport as well. As other reviewers mentioned this is near a group of shopping locations and Wal-Mart, Ikea, and few fast food restaurants and a pleasant grille Moxie's at one end and a Denny's at the other both accessible from inside the hotel if the weather is bad.

Room - Clean, bed comfortable, no bugs of course. In a suite room there is a very small bathroom between the bedroom side and living/sitting room with desk. Also a sink, coffee maker, small fridge between the two halves. At the end of the 4th floor it was not too noisy from above, it's the top floor, but the walls are a little thin but not bad. Request a room on the back side away from 11th street it's a little less noisy. Did not use any amenities, except in room coffee maker. Moxie's and Denny's offer room service, but did not use this opportunity.

Lighting in the sitting room area was dark from the use of cheap CFL bulbs, but then unless you are sitting somewhere other than the desk you don't mind. Eventually they warm up and give light, dim but you can see where you're going.

Ventilation - combined through the wall heating and AC unit controlled from wall thermostat. Seemed to keep temperature, it was not extremely hot or cold May 2014 so it didn't work too hard but the blower like most hotels was a little noisy, but didn't keep you awake.

Because I prefer to print airline boarding passes before standing in countless lines at the airport (yes I know the smart phones can do this) I do this the day before if possible and the hotel has a facility for this. Sandman has a Business Centre with two barely usable computers. They work but you have to pay a lot just to do something like print a boarding pass. I refused, got a PDF file that front desk could not figure out how to print. Even in the worst hotels they usually have a printing capability at least. Not here. I have emailed my cheapskate complaint to the General Manager, but as of a week received no response on why they have not connected with the real world. Thankfully wireless worked fine, although rather slow. They need to outsource this to another provider and not nickel and dime the visitors. Did I say cheapskate enough yet?

Otherwise I enjoyed the week. Close to my client, the restaurant at the end of the hall was great, nothing fancy but decent food and variety on the menu.

Parking was in back or front, no charge. Next door was a sports bar, and several burger type places and a few Asian restaurants in the neighborhood.

If you don't want to use the Business Centre for anything besides look, it's a nice stop.

Room Tip: If you can see if you can get a room on the top floor. The elevators are slow but the top floor at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good morning and thank you for your recent stay and subsequent comments. We value each and every comment to ensure we are meeting our guest expectations and needs.

With todays rising energy costs, we undertake all avenues to minimize our fingerprint on the environment and endeavor to keep these costs from reverting back to our fine guests. The light bulbs in our facility are LED. While they take a little longer to illuminate than standard light bulbs, they actually emit a better lighting experience.

We present our fine hotel as a value added complex. Where in todays world many hotels have an added charge for certain services and amenities, I.E. room service fees, parking fees, internet, WIFI, toiletries, etc....We ensure our guest fell they are not being burdened with these added costs. The business center is a service that the hotel provides, by a third party provider unfortunately at a minimal fee. ( $4.00 for 30 minutes of internet use for standard use- and free for our star plus members - again as a value added service.) The hotel does not benefit from this service.

We will always air on the side of caution when being asked to download from an external source to our office computers to print something for a guest, with the amount of internet viruses, and spyware out there, we simply cannot take this risk to our operating systems.

Again, we appreciate your business, and your comments.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We arrived with a young sports team for a weekend competition, to find a clean, spacious lobby.
The hotel is conveniently located, within walking distance to Walmart, and a great outdoor mall.
Although we could not have our rooms side by side,the manager, Ben, did his best to keep us close to one another.
The rooms were also clean, some with fridges, housekeeping staff were wonderful during our 4 day stay.
We were competing over Easter weekend, when the rain came, front desk staff allowed our athletes to use the lobby area for our big Easter Egg hunt.
New carpeting was being installed in the hallway to Moxies restaurant, staff went out of their way to make sure all of our young athletes were escorted safely to and from dinner.
Small indoor pool and gym area make this hotel a perfect location for any business or family fun in Calgary.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Away from elevator, end of hall, executive rooms have fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good afternoon. Thank you for your recent stay and subsequent comments. We appreciate each and every comment and evaluate our facilities and support our team each day to make sure our guests' expectations are met.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Choose hotel for location and not disappointed. Right off Deerfoot and Glenmore - 2 major roads in Calgary and we where at the sports venue we needed to be within 6 minutes. Hotel is in a major shopping hub with Walmart and other big stores and restaurants just a few blocks away.
Lobby and hallways very modern and open. Our room had 2 queen beds (very comfortable) and overall very modern but very DARK - even with all lights turned on and curtains open it was dark as the decor was grey and black, Small kitchen area with sink, fridge, microwave, coffee machine, toaster and even cutlery and plates for 4 was very handy. Bathroom -- very small and vanity was barely large enough for 1 person to brush your teeth so 2 was very challenging, but the kitchen sink was right outside the bathroom door - which helped a lot.
Hotel had 2 restaurants in the building - Denny's - a coffee/family style restaurant and Moxie's a more upscale restaurant - and another sports bar on site - which made getting a parking spot a challenge on Friday night for all hotel guests.
As others have said, noise is a concern - our room faced the street and IKEA - which had trucks on the loading dock all night so awoke to them a couple times each night.
They also had a pool, which we didn't have time to look at.
Overall, we would stay here again based on location and value and would recommend it, but keeping our concerns in mind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good morning and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate all comments and evaluate our product on a daily basis to ensure our fine guests' requirements are exceeded.

We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business march 2014 . Booked suite but there aren't any suites just rooms with fridges which we like to have. The only room avai
Able with a fridge was a disabled room which we accepted , at first glance was very pleased large bathroom huge hallway everything great until we tried to sleep , room number 134 is next to the lift on ground floor with a transformer on adjoining wall , it was so noisy no one would have slept and we were tired. We asked to be moved in morning and without question were moved to another room . Although better the walls are very thin and guests in corridors are very loud and noisy. Service was great but this is a noisy hotel so be prepared. I will recommend because reception were great , it has moxies and Denny's on site, although getting bored with them due to travelling they are convenient when needed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
good afternoon, thank you for your recent stay and subsequent comments. I am pleased to hear your concerns about noise from patrons were addressed immediately. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is an enjoyable one. We do have Corporate business class and executive business suites, along with executive Loft and Jacuzzi suites that cater to individual travelers requirements and budgets, including full kitchenettes, washer/ dryer suites, etc.. .We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Clean modern rooms, great location, great staff. A little noisy but not serious. There's a bar nearby so that's the downside if you want quiet. The bathroom was excellent, clean and the toiletries are nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay. We strive to ensure each and every stay is an enjoyable one.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spent two nights at the Sandman for YYC meetings. Great location - off Deerfoot and easy access to South Calgary and even downtown. Its all here - Moxies, Denny's, Shark Club. Lots of meal choices. Good parking.
The rooms are not huge, but clean and they offer everything you need. Quiet. And you can open the windows which is a bonus - too many out there do not allow openning of windows.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy777GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Good afternoon, thank you for your recent stay and subsequent comments.

We strive to ensure our valued guests needs are exceeded. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best Regards
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#42 of 109 in Calgary
541 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
945 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 109 in Calgary
523 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#76 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Address: 8001 - 11th St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel Calgary South is not only a short distance from downtown Calgary, but also located in the heart of beautiful Deerfoot Meadows. Steps away from shopping, dining, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Calgary South makes your travels easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing