We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets Expectations for tight Calgary Hotel Market”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I am used to staying in either the Hilton or Marriott family of hotels. The best equivalent for the Sandman South is part Embassy Suites (the room) and part Hampton Inn (the facilities). Everything is clean and the staff are fine but the hotel is a little soleless - the in house restaurant is Denny's and the view from my room was Ikea!

In most cities I would say this was overpriced but Calgary has too many people chasing too few hotel rooms so it is a fair price for the city...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timgraystl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed one night. Was given a family suite, which was very nice. It was very quiet and the bed was very comfy. Great shopping nearby - Ikea, Jysk, Petland, etc.

Room 114 is right across from the pool and has a queen bed in a separate room in the back and bunk beds as you enter the room. All separated by kitchenette and bathroom.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yukonifm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is fairly new hotel. It did not come up on our GPS when we were looking for it. A friend had suggest it and gave us the area not address. They only had the suite left and let us have it even with a small dog; AC was working well, a unti in each the living rm and the bedroom. The room was really nice with a full kitchen. There is a smittys or a Dennys I think, also there is a Chops steak house restaurant on the property. .

Room Tip: You may want to be in the back as the front you get the parking lot noise abit, but we were so tire...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 767sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I'm in Calgary on business at least one week per month and always stay here. The staff now recognize me at check in and are always super polite and very friendly. The rooms are always super clean and the beds are as comfy as at home.
The hotel is centrally located with Moxie's, Denny's and the Sharks Club sports bar all on the same property. Tons of shopping walking distance from the hotel. To me it's like a second home.
The only complaint I have with the hotel is the room keys. They use the new proximity keys and literally every time I stay it takes two to three tries before I get a set of keys that will work for an entire week. Other than this minor inconvenience I love this hotel and it's staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here in March and had a great stay, so we decided to try again and we weren't dissapointed. The rooms are large and comfy, we had people come visit us in our room and there was plenty of space with a couch and chair for them to sit on along with the king size bed. Hot tub was nice to come soak in after a long day of shopping and seeing the sites. There is a Moxies, Shark Club and Dennys right there, and Walmart right beside for snacks. Definately will keep staying here.

Room Tip: get a room facing the hill on the back, there is no road nose then.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolGirl792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quite surprised at the quality! Hotel was clean, staff was courteous and friendly. We certainly enjoyed our stay. We booked a room and got a suite… that was definitely a pleasant surprise! The hotel is pet friendly, too. That was a super bonus as we had our little dog with us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived in Calgary with the intent of heading to Drumheller and staying the night there, but as we called around we found out that every hotel in Drumheller was already booked. We decided to check out a Sandman hotel in Calgary as we have had nothing but good experiences with the Sandman chain, and this hotel did not disappoint! The manager on duty when we arrived to book a room (this was later on in the evening, past 10 PM) was very friendly and helpful. We had booked through a different site, and the booking information had not yet been sent to the hotel. He ended up giving us a great rate, and our room was very nice. We have found that Sandman Hotels are our favourite chain by far compared to any other hotel chain we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#44 of 109 in Calgary
544 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 109 in Calgary
529 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Address: 8001 - 11th St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $110 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel Calgary South is not only a short distance from downtown Calgary, but also located in the heart of beautiful Deerfoot Meadows. Steps away from shopping, dining, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Calgary South makes your travels easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing