We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean & Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #54 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Myself & a colleague stayed here for over a month in one of their suites. Had everything needed for cooking a light dinner, microwave and washing machine. Very friendly staff on front reception and nothing was a problem. Hotel was newly built and rooms where decorated to a high standard, and cleaned thoroughly everyday. Only negative was the breakfast in the attached Denny's restaurant which was very fatty and a poor choice!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishTravellingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August. There were 3 of us and we found the room was plenty big enough. My daughter slept on the pull out bed and us in the King. There were 2 rooms which the bedroom had a slide door. We had 2 TV's a small kitchenette and we loved the fact we could bring our dog. 3 restaurants are right there on the property with the Walmart a stone throw away. The Hotel has close to Deerfoot and Glenmore therefore Chinook Mall is under 10 mins away and the downtown under 20 mins. The only issue I had with this hotel was the lighting in the room was not bright enough for my liking but that will not stop me from staying there again. The young man at the front desk was super helpful. He needs a pat on the back for his helpfulness and friendliness. We stayed Aug 15th to 18th.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter. Some rooms have balconies which I thought would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geriann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very helpful staff, rooms are nicely done, very clean, we would definitely stay here again. Felt we were being taken care of by family.(front desk manager)
Very convenient to have multiple restaurants close by, easy access to the deer foot and glenmore trail, not badly priced. We checked out of the Travelodge on Macleod trail after a drunk tried to kick our door in, we found the sandman at 1230 am, night staff were extremely helpful. It was like we passed into paradise!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Sheets were clean, but stained; comfortable mattress. Lower quality linens. Hallway carpet shows heavy wear even though hotel only a few years old. Seems like hotel is so busy, housekeeping doesn't always keep up. TV only had two channels in exercise room!? I could have asked for help, but didn't have time. Comp coffee & fruit in lobby. Can't beat price for this hotel, but don't expect five star quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0seiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Good morning and thank you for taking the time to let us know of your comments. We take all comments - good and bad - very seriously and are always looking for ways to improve. Your observations have been brought forth to our team for corrections. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in early June at a weekend rate of $99. Very clean room with a small balcony, fridge. and microwave. My room had 2 queen beds and was on the back of the hotel so was very quiet. The person front desk was very courteous, understanding, and extremely patient and helpful. Thank goodness for that, as I was having one of "those" days! First I couldn't find my find my credit cards when I was checking in and then I left the key in the room not once, not twice, but three times, so had to have new keys made three times within an hour. He just kept assuring me that I was not being a nuisance - saying "these things happen, please don't feel embarrassed." My only concern is that I found the lighting to in the bathroom to be a bit too energy efficient, and would have appreciated more light for applying makeup. We will be staying there again in August, as it is convenient to where I need to be. There are nicer hotels in downtown Calgary, but the rates during the week are high and parking fees in downtown Calgary are ridiculous.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chemainus48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good morning, and thank you for the time to let us know about your stay. while some energy efficient lights do not meet everyone's lighting criteria, we do our best to make sure we are leaving a positive blueprint on the environment by being as energy efficient as possible..

we certainly look forward to seeing you in the future and should you require, we would be pleased to switch out the lights for you to give you a better light requirement, please just let us know at the time of your check in, and we would be happy to accommodate you.

Best regards

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

When I got into my room, there was a weird smell like something was rottening., I call the front desk to let them know, they send someone right away, after 2 hours the smell came back, so I started to look around and see what it was. I looked behind the table, and find a rotten apple with ants all over. I went to the front desk to compliant and also to get my room changed. I got a new room. The new room I got was okey but it was dirty blood stain on bed, and the sheets didn't smell clean some what dusty

I rate this hotel 5/10

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelsacore J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good morning, without a guest name and date of stay it is very hard to verify guest stayed with our property. I have reached out to the guest via the email provided, however to date have not received a response.
As you can read from previous reviews, and on line comments, our hotel is one of the cleanest in Calgary, and we take great pride in this. Our housekeeping team won the most recent AHLA housekeeping award given for excellence in housekeeping cleanliness standards. I hope to hear from this guest, in order to facilitate a speedy resolve to the concern.

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Highs

Proximity to work
Spacious upgraded room, clean
Centre of city
Decent restaurants attached

Lows

A bit pricey without Breakfast included
Nothing included in room I.e. bottle of water
Average bed
No hd tv channels

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank JackandJill1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Northwest Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Hotel Blackfoot
#19 of 110 in Calgary
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 110 in Calgary
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Address: 8001 - 11th St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $111 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel Calgary South is not only a short distance from downtown Calgary, but also located in the heart of beautiful Deerfoot Meadows. Steps away from shopping, dining, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Calgary South makes your travels easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing