We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arts(Calgary)(Great Value!)
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$98
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$211
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Elan(Calgary)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$143
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$134
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fairmont Palliser(Calgary)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$92
$86
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
111
86
35
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
86
35
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark clubdeerfoot meadowssuper storefront deskbunk bedsdenny's restaurantfamily suitechinook centreheritage parka great stayliving roomwould stay here againbathroom doormodern decorfull kitchenmini fridgerooms were very clean
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 259 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

To begin with, there aren't many hotels to choose from in south Calgary. Sandman is quite new and is located near the highway and shopping. There is a Moxie's on site which is great. It was a bit noisy at night (we stayed over a weekend and were treated to kids running up and down the halls for 3-4 hours each evening until midnight). Also, the rooms weren't well lit... it was a bit odd really. I think they used 40 watt bulbs everywhere. Overall, Sandman was an average experience so we probably will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAG1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments. we value each and every guest comment, positive or negative. With our diverse clientele, we try to make sure all guests are comfortable. Weekends are a time that we have numerous sporting teams in the hotel various times of the year. Sometimes some guests are a bit more noisy than others and causing a disturbance to others. For any concerns of this nature brought to our attention, our security on staff make it a priority that any guest disturbance calls are dealt with immediately, and our quiet times are strictly monitored. Any extreme violators are removed from the hotel if warranted. We believe ensuring all guest comfort is our main focus, without the inconvenience to our other guests. Ie, making sure any guest who is looking for a quiet weekend getaway, we try to make sure their rooms are as far away from the teams, and the potential for noise challenges. Thank you once again, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a brand new Sandman Signature located at the far south of Calgary. It is a $50 cab ride from the airport to the Hotel, but the Hotel itself is worht the extra dollars needed to get there. This Hotel has a Shark Club, a Moxie's and a Denny's on location. Some travellers have commented that since the Shark club has been added to the amenities, there is a shortage of parking for Hotel guests and I did notice that the parking lot was congested. I stay at Sandman's all through Western Canada for business, and this Hotel and the new one in South Edmonton are the two best properties Sandman operates in the West. Check outht eLucky 13 program, free rooms when you hit certain levels.

Room Tip: Try the 4th floor, quiet and key needed for elevator to access this floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clint a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My room was two stories, with living area on the lower and sleeping area upstairs. When traveling so often that one cant remember which city I am in let alone which hotel, the Sandman certainly stood out.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and got two floors of space.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for work to be close to the industrial park. There are a few closer that are older and not quite as nice. This hotel is brand new and well maintained. I booked a king room, checked in late and ended up upgraded to a king loft style suite. Very nice to have a kitchenette having to be there a full week. The beds were nice and comfortable. The room was cleaned daily. In the morning you can grab some fruit and a granola bar, coffee or tea for the road. Our group ate at moxies which was excellent as always and the service was great. The shark club was good also but our service was not as good. All in all, the location was good, the hotel was nice and clean and the food was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice new hotel. Rooms are clean and have a pleasant atmosphere. Hvac systems operated well in the room. Denny,s restaraunt was okay for breakfast. Good overall experience. Would recommend hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews