We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice new hotel. Rooms are clean and have a pleasant atmosphere. Hvac systems operated well in the room. Denny,s restaraunt was okay for breakfast. Good overall experience. Would recommend hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 246 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

A trip to Calgary for Christmas shopping took us to this new Sandman for the night. The hotel lobby design is simple and very cozy. The room we had was very clean and comfortable. Slept like a baby! Enjoyed the location because it was close to great shopping and didn't have to fight the crowds or busy downtown area. Celebrated my b'day dinner in Moxie's which was very nice. Staff were friendly and food was excellent. My only complaint was the sneezing fit I had as a result of the "newness" of the hotel. Something gave me an allergic reaction which didn't last long. I just laughed and continued to enjoy the stay. Thanks Sandman! I'll be back. :)

Room Tip: There was a pool yet we didn't use it. Room had a little cupboard with a coffee machine, fridge...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maltgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on business for five nights. My room was upgraded to an executive suite. There was a small kitchenette with fridge, microwave and toaster plus tea and coffee making facilities. The location was ideal for my work but don't expect to be able to sitesee anywhere near the hotel. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there is a Denies one side and a Moxies the other plus a Shark bar our front. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaldyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed one night and was surprised how nice the hotel was, not only does it have a great location (close to the biggest mall in Calgary and other shopping outlets) it has two restaurants on either side which both provide room service, and both can be entered from inside the hotel.

The lobby was nicely decorated and they had baskets of apples and coffee out for guests, The pool and hot tub were a little small, but very clean and enjoyable.

The room was a little on the smaller side; you have a mini fridge, coffee, microwave ... all the things you would expect - no wait, one thing missing ... you couldn't order movies on their TV.

My only complain is the beds were not really comfy .. but they were okay. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back side (where there was a hill) it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now, we love the family room, it has a separate room with bunks for the kids and a small kitchen area. It is very close to shopping and easy to get to zoo as it is right off of the Deerfoot Trail. I have noticed that I can't book bunk suite online so I recommend calling them directly if you are interested in this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful longer term stay here with our dog. We are used to having the less desirable rooms when traveling with our fur kid however the staff at this hotel were excellent. When we checked in the young lady was extremely knowledgable on where we could exercise our dog, local shops, etc. Having travelled across the continent relocating we had an unpleasant stay at another hotel so that made our stay here feel extra special. The hotel is not a luxury five star but it is modern, clean and well located. We have family coming for Christmas and will happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Neptune75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

enjoyed our stay, great location.
Front desk was good on arrival on leaving the man didn't seem that knowledgeable. just my opinion.
the room was clean, everything working, not a lot of room.
make sure you understand heating cooling system otherwise its miserable

Room Tip: king size beds deluxe rooms are very average you need to be small to get in the one side. it might c...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthur63-ardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#44 of 109 in Calgary
544 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 109 in Calgary
529 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Address: 8001 - 11th St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $110 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel Calgary South is not only a short distance from downtown Calgary, but also located in the heart of beautiful Deerfoot Meadows. Steps away from shopping, dining, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Calgary South makes your travels easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing