We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Alberta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband came to Calgary on business and the kids and I tagged along. We were in for 4 nights in a 'family suite'. The kids, 4 and 1 stayed in the bunk beds -- both bunkbeds had a safety railing so we were confident they weren't going to fall or roll out. (they didn't, haha). Can I add the beds were SUPER comfortable too? The kitchenette - standard microwave and minifridge with the not so standard toaster and dishes were fantastic. Just what we needed to keep lunch stuff in and snacks for the kids. Separate TV's for us and the kids was amazing and they really enjoyed the beanbags provided to sit on, although it did make it a bit squishy in the room. My only concern was that the bunkbeds were right by the hallway door. Made me nervous that if someone were to come in, they were right there, and we were in the back.... a better set up would have reversed that. As well, for hallway sound, it would have been better to have the kids closer to the back. On the other hand... I enjoyed the big window and being able to make the kids room DARK for naps. The sliding door and king sized bed made the 'adult' room exceptional. Because the set up of the room, it didn't leave much floor space... which is asking for a lot, I know, but we made do. The bathroom was pretty standard and again a bit squishy, but nothing that couldn't be handled. The furnishings were modern and comfortable. It was a very comfortable stay. The location was amazing... with Ikea, Walmart, Starbucks, Micheals and a Gap Outlet all within walking distance... what more can a girl ask for? There were plenty of other stores - google deerfoot meadows for a complete list.

As far as amenities in the hotel, we loved having the two restaurants... especially with the winter storm going on outside, it was super convenient. The pool was fun for the kids, they loved the changing colors. Pool was a bit cool though and the hot tub was very warm, but nice. The high speed internet wasn't very speedy, but worked and the business center was NOT free... kinda disappointed there too.

My only complaint was cleanliness. While everything looked clean upon arrival, we later found (while looking for a lost slipper) that there were toys, food, papers, etc. under the beds between the skirt and frame as well as in corners and under the bunks. Also, the cupboards in the kitchenette hadn't been cleaned in a while either... with crumbs from the toaster and leftover foods left behind. That part really disappointed me because I loved everything else.

All in all, a great stay and I'd definitely be back if we were to stay in Calgary. Totally worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank truth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    78
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
60
32
4
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Excellent room, excellent service and a good meal in Moxies.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walneybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in November 2011 and I wouldn't recommend this hotel. We were looking for a hotel that was reasonably priced and located in this area for a seminar we were attending. Even for such a laid back trip I wouldn't stay here.

They say this hotel just opened and yet all the furniture in the rooms looks recycled, the doors are beaten up and the closets don't even close. We had to get someone to come in and fix the furnace since it was so cold. The only good thing about this hotel is that Moxie's is right there.

The pool is alright but don't plan on warming up in the hot tub, you can run a warmer bath is you tiny tub in your room. The floor in the pool room is so unlevel you can stub your foot on some of the tiles. Horrible work!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank court_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed at the Sandman South from Feb 1-3 and booked the King/Kitchen suite (regular tub not the jacuzzi tub) for approx $170/night.
What a GREAT stay!!! Checking in was so easy and all the reservation clerks were so friendly!
The lobby looks like a show home suite and the facilities are incredibly clean!
My room was a perfect size, again very clean and comfortable. My kitchen had a stove top, microwave, small dishwasher and fridge. There was a set of dishes, pots and pan, and cutlery. They did have dishsoap, but no dishwasher soap or paper towel which would have helped a bit. (They are having a few issues with head office not providing the supplies they need since they are such a new hotel, and that's why they are short of these supplies.)
The living room had a nice sized flat screen TV and there was another flat screen in the bedroom as well.
The bed was very comfortable and the room had a walk through closet to the bathroom in it.
The location may seem a little far from the downtown area, but honestly, that's where I was working while I was in Calgary, and it only took me about 15 minutes to get downtown. It was great to be so close to so many restaraunts as well (Moxies, Denny's, Walmart, Ikea and LOTS of other shopping).
Overall, this was a fantastic stay and I will definately be staying there again when I am back in Calgary!
Thank you to all of the great employees at the Sandman for doing a fantastic job!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kartrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were at this hotel for a business meeting and the room and food for that was good. Our hotel room we upgraded to the family suite and it was great because it had a separate room that had bunkbeds for the kids! They loved that part! I would have preferred the king bed closer to the door instead of the bunk bed though!
There was a slight water trickling sound that could be heard all the time, but otherwise very quiet (even with the hotel booked with hockey teams). Our door looks like someone had it locked with the pull over bar and someone tried to get in. The door frame was damaged and hardly holding on. I left a note for housekeeping to fix this, as well as the squeaky bathroom door. Other than those things, the room was clean and very modern.
Lastly, we mostly like to stay at hotels with 'heated' pools for the kids to swim. Well, we went to get in and it was freezing! I went to ask at the main desk about getting it turned up in there, and she promptly paged maintenance to come have a look. A few minutes later, the maintenance man showed up, stuck a thermometer in the pool and said, yup it's 80. Well to me, 80 is barely a heated pool...especially when there is an exterior door within the pool area to the -15C outside! The hot tub was warm, definitely not hot. The kids did like that the pool changed colors.
Overall good stay, and nice to have Moxie's and Denny's connected to the hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson Park
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Arrived at Calgary Airport on the first leg of our Archers trip through Canada. The airport itself had a stunning sculpture in the foyer of horses. We were met by our representative and taken by coach to the Sandman Hotel. Very comfortable rooms, a little old fashioned but we were only staying one night. The meal we had at the hotel that night was beautifully cooked and very reasonable.
The following morning we all boarded the coach en route to Banff. Our guide Linda Brown, took us on an impromtu trip of downtown Calgary taking in the Olympic medal site, Municipal Hall and being a Sunday Morning, it was very quiet so we were able to disembark and take lots of pictures. We then went on to the Calagary Stampede Park which was amazing, again we had plenty of time to take pictures. From there we went on to the Olympic Park and stopped for coffee. Seeing the Ski Jump that Eddie the Eagle won his acclaimed fame from was an added bonus. Once back on the coach, we headed for Banff and I will do a review of that hotel next. Our first sight of the rockies was breathtaking - wasn't sure my camera would stand up to all of the pictures I anticipated taking - Banff was an amazing place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudeEmersonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

It's a new property located in the south east area of Calgary at Deerfoot Meadows complex where IKEA and Walmart Super Store areat walking distance from the hotel . The hotel has sufficient parking space. The rooms are spacious and clean. The Denny's 24 Hour Restaurant and Moxie's Classic Grill serve great food and drinks. The wifi was also good and very usable. The hotel offers a very peaceful and relaxing experince, though my reason to choose it was the good price it offered.

Room Tip: rooms to the east side may provide better view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ARTIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#76 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Address: 8001 11 St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel Calgary South is not only a short distance from downtown Calgary, but also located in the heart of beautiful Deerfoot Meadows. Steps away from shopping, dining, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Calgary South makes your travels easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing