We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible sleep, restaurant a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn - Calgary South
Ranked #84 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The place is not too bad for decore, alittle beaten up. Needs improvement for the price. There was a resident drunk in the restaurant , and he's there every day apparently. I don't know why they would serve such a person. He was very annoying to everyone who came in. The staff were all pleasent but when we told the front desk that the heater would start every 5 min even when we tried to turn it off and that it kept us up all night he just said " and how was the rest of your stay" Our stay sucked , like what else is there , we did not sleep all night , like what are they selling . Teddy bears , no its a good night sleep. Fail, fail, fail. If your going to ask how my night was at least be able to do something when your product failed . everyone else in business must provide adequate value and when it fails they make restitution. Do not stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dktiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not come up to par. Do note, however, we are up-dating our guest rooms, (This is in progress) and I do believe on any future stays with us you will notice a marked improvement in our guest rooms.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 835 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

The room itself wasn't bad. One of the duvet covers was dirty, but after taking it down to front desk they quickly replaced it no problem and were very friendly and good about it.

What I am in disappointed in is the customer service of the Housekeeping department. We left an IPod in the room and didn't realize it was missing until we were on our way back to Saskatoon. My roommate- Who left the item called and it was there. I tried going twice to pick it up but both times it wasn't available because it was after hours. After that, it was weeks of trying to phone Housekeeping to get a hold of someone. I left countless messages and no one ever got back to me. I left 4 messages in a row for 4 days, and nothing. I FINALLY got a hold of the Executive Housekeeper, I explained the situation but didn't know my room number, so she said she would call me back. And never did. Then back to the phone tag game. 3 people involved in trying to get this figured out, and it took weeks. Very poor customer service. This may seem like a small issue, but I work in hotels as an Executive Housekeeper and would NEVER gotten away with treating a guest like this.

If you have the item, call them back. If you don't have the item, call them back. Not really that hard. Very disappointed in the way I was treated and how the situation was handled.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniellemonique44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the miscommunication from our lost & found/housekeeping department.
We received calls from the actual owner of the lost item, who was not the registered guest of the hotel, advising us to hold the said item and not release it to anyone exept himself.
As per policy, we invistigated the case prior to releasing the said item. the invistigation resulted that the owner of the item was a guest if the registered guest of the hotel.
The said item has only been released when our manager spoke with both parties and have both agreed to release through a third party (mutual friend)
Due protocol was followed by the hotel staff, once again we do apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was generally happy with my stay here - the room was bright, modern and comfortable and the location is good, with many restaurants nearby, plenty of parking and a 5 minute walk from the C-Train. I did find the front desk staff unhelpful at times, the wifi was slow in the evenings, the breakfast was minimal but decent, and while the food in the restaurant was good, it was overpriced and took way too long to make. Also, beware of the unsavoury individuals who hang around the back of the hotel at night...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank todowntowner04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and hope that we will be of further service to you on all your visits to Calgary.

I have mentioned your comment about the front desk staff to our manager, the needful will be done.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I just wanted to take some time to thank everyone at the Days Inn Calgary South for the excellent service we received in 2013, especially during the rebuilding of the infrastructures in Calgary, during the floods. Everyone went out of their way to accommodate us. The Days Inn Calgary South is our first choice of accommodations and we look forward to doing business with you in 2014. Being in a business where travel is mandatory, we have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the last 20 years, and know the inside out of hotel rooms, staff, and customer service, and The Days Inn Calgary South tops the list of best hotels for us! Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tru-Line Survey... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, all staff and management take a lot of pride in what we do, your comments are much appreciated

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Requested a cot which we received but no sheets when we called the front desk to ask for sheets were told that he was unable to get us any. TV channels were all fuzzy, the hotel is very loud, the lobby is very dirty there was an overflowing garbage in the lobby our whole stay. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest

I am saddened to note that your stay with us was not upto standard. I do appologize for all the issues that you have mentioned and these will be taken up with the department heads. We do not take customer service lightly and I am sure your next stay with us will be much improved.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
3  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 110 in Calgary
157 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 110 in Calgary
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
263 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Calgary South

Address: 3828 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $65 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Calgary South. Our hotel offers 134 Guestrooms and Suites, Meeting Facilities, Heated Indoor Salt Water Pool/Hot Tub and Fitness Centre. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast including Belgium Waffles, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Parking, and Free Local Calls. A Valid Credit Card is required at Check In. All of our rooms have Iron and Ironing Board, Cable TV, Hairdryer and Clock Radio. Refrigerators are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Microwaves are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Pets allowed in some rooms for nominal fee. We offer a shuttle service for nominal fee. The Transit system is within 1 Block of the hotel. The Atlantic Trap And Grill Pub is located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn - Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing