We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrible Customer Service in Housekeeping” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn - Calgary South
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service in Housekeeping”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The room itself wasn't bad. One of the duvet covers was dirty, but after taking it down to front desk they quickly replaced it no problem and were very friendly and good about it.

What I am in disappointed in is the customer service of the Housekeeping department. We left an IPod in the room and didn't realize it was missing until we were on our way back to Saskatoon. My roommate- Who left the item called and it was there. I tried going twice to pick it up but both times it wasn't available because it was after hours. After that, it was weeks of trying to phone Housekeeping to get a hold of someone. I left countless messages and no one ever got back to me. I left 4 messages in a row for 4 days, and nothing. I FINALLY got a hold of the Executive Housekeeper, I explained the situation but didn't know my room number, so she said she would call me back. And never did. Then back to the phone tag game. 3 people involved in trying to get this figured out, and it took weeks. Very poor customer service. This may seem like a small issue, but I work in hotels as an Executive Housekeeper and would NEVER gotten away with treating a guest like this.

If you have the item, call them back. If you don't have the item, call them back. Not really that hard. Very disappointed in the way I was treated and how the situation was handled.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellemonique44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the miscommunication from our lost & found/housekeeping department.
We received calls from the actual owner of the lost item, who was not the registered guest of the hotel, advising us to hold the said item and not release it to anyone exept himself.
As per policy, we invistigated the case prior to releasing the said item. the invistigation resulted that the owner of the item was a guest if the registered guest of the hotel.
The said item has only been released when our manager spoke with both parties and have both agreed to release through a third party (mutual friend)
Due protocol was followed by the hotel staff, once again we do apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    179
    171
    124
    114
See reviews for
209
145
42
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was generally happy with my stay here - the room was bright, modern and comfortable and the location is good, with many restaurants nearby, plenty of parking and a 5 minute walk from the C-Train. I did find the front desk staff unhelpful at times, the wifi was slow in the evenings, the breakfast was minimal but decent, and while the food in the restaurant was good, it was overpriced and took way too long to make. Also, beware of the unsavoury individuals who hang around the back of the hotel at night...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank todowntowner04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and hope that we will be of further service to you on all your visits to Calgary.

I have mentioned your comment about the front desk staff to our manager, the needful will be done.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I just wanted to take some time to thank everyone at the Days Inn Calgary South for the excellent service we received in 2013, especially during the rebuilding of the infrastructures in Calgary, during the floods. Everyone went out of their way to accommodate us. The Days Inn Calgary South is our first choice of accommodations and we look forward to doing business with you in 2014. Being in a business where travel is mandatory, we have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the last 20 years, and know the inside out of hotel rooms, staff, and customer service, and The Days Inn Calgary South tops the list of best hotels for us! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tru-Line Survey... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, all staff and management take a lot of pride in what we do, your comments are much appreciated

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Requested a cot which we received but no sheets when we called the front desk to ask for sheets were told that he was unable to get us any. TV channels were all fuzzy, the hotel is very loud, the lobby is very dirty there was an overflowing garbage in the lobby our whole stay. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

I am saddened to note that your stay with us was not upto standard. I do appologize for all the issues that you have mentioned and these will be taken up with the department heads. We do not take customer service lightly and I am sure your next stay with us will be much improved.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Some root beer spilled and we swiped it up with a towel. When they inspected our room for damages at check out they charged us $10.00 for the towel. The room had a horrible view of train tracks which kept us awake through the night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued guest

Thankyou for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. It is not in our habit of charging guests for no reason but when towels are used to dye hair or clean shoes and most especially when it has to be thrown away then a charge might apply.

We are sorry that this happened in this case and our focus point is to give clean towels to our customer's and we are discouraging the practice of guests using towels as rags. We do have shoe mits in the room for shoes and if you have requested for a clean towel that has been taken out of service: we would have been happy to give you one.

Once again I appologize about the charge but it is due to this particular reason.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#82 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#37 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Calgary South

Property: Days Inn - Calgary South
Address: 3828 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Calgary South. Our hotel offers 134 Guestrooms and Suites, Meeting Facilities, Heated Indoor Salt Water Pool/Hot Tub and Fitness Centre. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast including Belgium Waffles, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Parking, and Free Local Calls. A Valid Credit Card is required at Check In. All of our rooms have Iron and Ironing Board, Cable TV, Hairdryer and Clock Radio. Refrigerators are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Microwaves are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Pets allowed in some rooms for nominal fee. We offer a shuttle service for nominal fee. The Transit system is within 1 Block of the hotel. The Atlantic Trap And Grill Pub is located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Days Inn - Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing